Forums59
Topics1,056,736
Posts14,273,649
Members144,593
|
Most Online39,925 Dec 30th, 2023
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: OUJoeyC]
#5752158
01/23/11 08:33 PM
|
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 8,951
Barrett
TFF Celebrity
|
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 8,951 |
Best of luck to you college guys.
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Texas Smoke]
#5752174
01/23/11 08:39 PM
|
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,398
Brandon Dickenson
TFF Team Angler
|
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,398 |
I hope the real explanation/story of why they were DQ'd comes out...The "release" area is usually the "take off" area, so surely that is not what it is....Something sure sounds "fishy" here, hope they aren't just trying to sweep it under the rug, because this has me curious. They were fishing down at the dam and they threw over the bouys. They thougt that it would be o.k. since they're boat didn't go across the buoys but apparently the rules say that you can't cast anywhere that your boat can't go so they were DQ'ed. It was an honest mistake. What is it that sounds so "fishy" ??? Because I have fished a lot of tournaments in my time, and never ran into this issue....As the rule states that you just quoted, does that mean I can't skip my bait under a dock, or into a culvert, hence my boat can't go there....hmmmmmm 
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Brandon Dickenson]
#5752231
01/23/11 08:59 PM
|
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
OUJoeyC
Green Horn
|
Green Horn
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16 |
I guess in this case one of the buoys on the other side of the spill way they were fishing by and another washed up on shore actually had a sign like No boats allowed or something. If it is locally designated as "no boats" it is considered off limits by an FLW college general rule. The college fishing confirmation email says to click a link to view tournament rules and out of bounds areas. The page says for out of bounds see map, and standard out of bounds and everstrart release area. The map identifies no off limit areas (hence the honest mistake by the team), but the general FLW college rule still applies.
Joey
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Barrett]
#5752262
01/23/11 09:11 PM
|
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
OUJoeyC
Green Horn
|
Green Horn
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16 |
WOW sounds extra "fishy" to me. Seems almost like someone was out to get them. if it wasn't specifically posted in the rules then I would have been rather upset. And last time I checked "No boats" means "no boats" not "no fishing." I would like to here a clarification on the tourney director on this one. I don't think anyone was out to get them. The tournament director was calling a bunch of different guys prob from FLW the whole time and also bouncing info off a non-biased everstart guy he knew who actually took them out to the buoys with our guy. The rules also state the tourney director rulings are final and not up for appeal so I doubt we seek any clarification. It is also up to the director as to the enforcement of a violation, DQ, weight loss, loss of biggest catch, etc. Since they caught 19 and some change, weight loss prob still would have put them at first place or at a minimum in the top five so I guess DQ and listing them as 0 fish 0 lbs. on the official results was the only option.
Joey
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: OUJoeyC]
#5752288
01/23/11 09:18 PM
|
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 8,951
Barrett
TFF Celebrity
|
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 8,951 |
best of luck to the college guys..
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Barrett]
#5752331
01/23/11 09:31 PM
|
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
OUJoeyC
Green Horn
|
Green Horn
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16 |
WOW sounds extra "fishy" to me. Seems almost like someone was out to get them. if it wasn't specifically posted in the rules then I would have been rather upset. And last time I checked "No boats" means "no boats" not "no fishing." I would like to here a clarification on the tourney director on this one. I don't think anyone was out to get them. The tournament director was calling a bunch of different guys prob from FLW the whole time and also bouncing info off a non-biased everstart guy he knew who actually took them out to the buoys with our guy. The rules also state the tourney director rulings are final and not up for appeal so I doubt we seek any clarification. It is also up to the director as to the enforcement of a violation, DQ, weight loss, loss of biggest catch, etc. Since they caught 19 and some change, weight loss prob still would have put them at first place or at a minimum in the top five so I guess DQ and listing them as 0 fish 0 lbs. on the official results was the only option. The tourney director should be making the call. It shouldn't be a poll from a bunch of different people... this is why it sounds fishy to me. An a non biassed everstart guy???? WTH? I didnt know it was up to a board to make a decision. Again this is not my business but If i was these guys i would be pissed. I agree with you on this one. With the long wait for the ruling and result lets just say it was a very long ride back to Norman
Joey
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Barrett]
#5752358
01/23/11 09:38 PM
|
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 20,602
Baylor_Guy�
TFF Guru
|
TFF Guru
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 20,602 |
If i was these guys i would be pissed. +1
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Baylor_Guy�]
#5752521
01/23/11 10:27 PM
|
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,241
John A.
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,241 |
Teams may fish anywhere on tournament waters within the boundaries defined on CollegeFishing.com that is available to the public and accessible by boat, except areas designated as off-limits, no boats or no fishing by FLW Outdoors, local, state or federal officials, or within 50 yards of a contestants boat that was first anchored.
Here is exactly what the rules state. It says you cannot fish within boundaries defined. Its rather vague but it can easily be interpreted that you cannot cast into a off-limits area. I feel for the OU guys, this is the second time that the possibly best team that day got DQed for minimal offences but rules are rules and there was a lot of water to fish outside the area around the spillway. I don't think that anyone was "out to get them." Kevin, despite our occasional arguments, is a fair guy in my opinion. It wouldn't matter who the team was, I believe that he would have made the same decision.
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Brandon Dickenson]
#5752637
01/23/11 11:05 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,108
UNTbass222
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,108 |
I hope the real explanation/story of why they were DQ'd comes out...The "release" area is usually the "take off" area, so surely that is not what it is....Something sure sounds "fishy" here, hope they aren't just trying to sweep it under the rug, because this has me curious. They were fishing down at the dam and they threw over the bouys. They thougt that it would be o.k. since they're boat didn't go across the buoys but apparently the rules say that you can't cast anywhere that your boat can't go so they were DQ'ed. It was an honest mistake. What is it that sounds so "fishy" ??? Because I have fished a lot of tournaments in my time, and never ran into this issue....As the rule states that you just quoted, does that mean I can't skip my bait under a dock, or into a culvert, hence my boat can't go there....hmmmmmm haha
Austin Hollowell
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Brandon Dickenson]
#5752679
01/23/11 11:16 PM
|
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,127
Texas Smoke
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,127 |
I hope the real explanation/story of why they were DQ'd comes out...The "release" area is usually the "take off" area, so surely that is not what it is....Something sure sounds "fishy" here, hope they aren't just trying to sweep it under the rug, because this has me curious. They were fishing down at the dam and they threw over the bouys. They thougt that it would be o.k. since they're boat didn't go across the buoys but apparently the rules say that you can't cast anywhere that your boat can't go so they were DQ'ed. It was an honest mistake. What is it that sounds so "fishy" ??? Because I have fished a lot of tournaments in my time, and never ran into this issue....As the rule states that you just quoted, does that mean I can't skip my bait under a dock, or into a culvert, hence my boat can't go there....hmmmmmm I know you're young but you can't be this dumb. You know what I was saying.
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Texas Smoke]
#5752691
01/23/11 11:18 PM
|
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 5,268
WhataBass
TFF Celebrity
|
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 5,268 |
I fish that area often... I don't get my boat inside the buoys but have caught some nice fish over there!
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: John A.]
#5752763
01/23/11 11:38 PM
|
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
OUJoeyC
Green Horn
|
Green Horn
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 16 |
Teams may fish anywhere on tournament waters within the boundaries defined on CollegeFishing.com that is available to the public and accessible by boat, except areas designated as off-limits, no boats or no fishing by FLW Outdoors, local, state or federal officials, or within 50 yards of a contestants boat that was first anchored.
Here is exactly what the rules state. It says you cannot fish within boundaries defined. Its rather vague but it can easily be interpreted that you cannot cast into a off-limits area. I feel for the OU guys, this is the second time that the possibly best team that day got DQed for minimal offences but rules are rules and there was a lot of water to fish outside the area around the spillway. I don't think that anyone was "out to get them." Kevin, despite our occasional arguments, is a fair guy in my opinion. It wouldn't matter who the team was, I believe that he would have made the same decision. Yep, once the team read this exact paragraph given to them by Kevin they knew that the right call was made. I think what was frustrating was that this easy and clear rule wasn't identified immediately and that for an hour and a half it was because it was against Texas law that they were going to be DQ'd, later cleared up by a game warden. Regardless, the rule you just posted was the only and exact rule that caused their DQ.
Joey
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: John A.]
#5752776
01/23/11 11:42 PM
|
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,936
Matt McClellan
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,936 |
Teams may fish anywhere on tournament waters within the boundaries defined on CollegeFishing.com that is available to the public and accessible by boat, except areas designated as off-limits, no boats or no fishing by FLW Outdoors, local, state or federal officials, or within 50 yards of a contestants boat that was first anchored.
Here is exactly what the rules state. It says you cannot fish within boundaries defined. Its rather vague but it can easily be interpreted that you cannot cast into a off-limits area. I feel for the OU guys, this is the second time that the possibly best team that day got DQed for minimal offences but rules are rules and there was a lot of water to fish outside the area around the spillway. I don't think that anyone was "out to get them." Kevin, despite our occasional arguments, is a fair guy in my opinion. It wouldn't matter who the team was, I believe that he would have made the same decision. +1
UT TYLER BASS TEAM- President Prosthetic Orthotic Associates of Texas www.POA-TEXAS.com
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Barrett]
#5752912
01/24/11 12:21 AM
|
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,241
John A.
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,241 |
Me saying it was vague was not exactly the right word. The rule covers the infraction committed. Just a clearer rule would be, a team member may not cast fish inside a off limits area. I know I have heard it in rules meetings to imagine an offlimits area as a wall. You cannot cast onto it.
|
|
Re: FLW college @ Choke today
[Re: Barrett]
#5752946
01/24/11 12:32 AM
|
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,127
Texas Smoke
Extreme Angler
|
Extreme Angler
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,127 |
You would think that since the rule is so "vague" and it is the way you interpret it that determines if the team was actually in violation.... something like this wouldn't happen. Instead of rob the team of 10 grand since it really wasn't stated... maybe award them what the earned and CLARIFY the rule and move on. Just seems if the TD was calling all these people and running around, talking to GW etc he really didn't know what to do. After not knowing what to do he sure did take an interesting route. Maybe he was "calling all these people and running around" to try and find a way to HELP the team not be disqualified. You make it seem like it was a witch hunt. You couldn't be further from the truth. Maybe you should just go to your room and do some studying young fella and leave this to the adults because you're making a big deal about nothing.
|
|
Moderated by banker-always fishing, chickenman, Derek 🐝, Duck_Hunter, Fish Killer, J-2, Jacob, Jons3825, JustWingem, Nocona Brian, Toon-Troller, Uncle Zeek, Weekender1
|