texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Down two one, 22fisherman, HarrySon, Zog, kiwifisherman
115186 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 101,677
hopalong 95,993
Pilothawk 80,806
John175☮ 78,901
Bigbob_FTW 73,019
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,424
Mark Perry 62,571
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,146,178
Posts15,666,156
Members140,186
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Lowrance point 1 #13853938 01/20/21 10:19 PM
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
A
Anthonysince94 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
If I installed a point one on the back of my boat and linked it to each unit via nmea 2000 network, what settings do I need to change for my bow unit to stop spinning around when I'm looking at the graph?

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13853942 01/20/21 10:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 570
karaider00 Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 570
Go under settings then network. Then you pick your gps source, I think it’s the first option. Turn that on point 1.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: karaider00] #13853961 01/20/21 10:30 PM
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
A
Anthonysince94 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by karaider00
Go under settings then network. Then you pick your gps source, I think it’s the first option. Turn that on point 1.



So do both units go on point one or just the console unit? I just dont want the bow unit to spin when I'm fishing.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13853979 01/20/21 10:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 570
karaider00 Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 570
I did both on mine.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854170 01/21/21 12:36 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,229
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,229
Both...just remember that waypoints will be saved over the Point 1’s physical location, not the transducer location.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: karaider00] #13854172 01/21/21 12:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
Originally Posted by karaider00
Go under settings then network. Then you pick your gps source, I think it’s the first option. Turn that on point 1.

Incorrect. Which GPS antenna source you use is irrelevant for the map spin issue.

What matters is the proper selection of the magnetic sensor. I forget exactly what it's called, but you must enable the external magnetic sensor for any unit you wish to prevent from spinning the map when you are stationary, or nearly stationary.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854177 01/21/21 12:40 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,566
S
SC-001 Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,566
These new fangled electronics make my head hurt

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: SteezMacQueen] #13854187 01/21/21 12:44 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Both...just remember that waypoints will be saved over the Point 1’s physical location, not the transducer location.

If you leave the GPS antenna setting for the bow unit alone, that unit will accurately put you back on the spot, assuming the transducer is on the trolling motor. What is needed for most bass boater instances is to utilize the magnetic sensor that comes as part of the Point-1. So many people think the magic is all about the fact that it's a GPS antenna, and that isn't true.

The most accurate location repeatability typically comes with: Bow unit uses internal GPS antenna, or at least an antenna at the bow, while console units use a GPS antenna located near the transom. ALL units should use the magnet sensor integrated into the Point-1 device - this is the magical solution that stops map spin.

Concerning Lowrance "puck" devices: The white "puck" that comes with a Lowrance Ghost is not a Point-1, nor will it help with map-spin on a display screen. That device is a "TMC-1" - "Trolling Motor Compass 1". It is dedicated to the Ghost and is not visible to other devices. Some have though this is a Point-1, which they then seek to configure. That's not the case, just to help some not fall into the wrong understanding.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Flippin-Out] #13854331 01/21/21 02:03 AM
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
A
Anthonysince94 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Both...just remember that waypoints will be saved over the Point 1’s physical location, not the transducer location.

If you leave the GPS antenna setting for the bow unit alone, that unit will accurately put you back on the spot, assuming the transducer is on the trolling motor. What is needed for most bass boater instances is to utilize the magnetic sensor that comes as part of the Point-1. So many people think the magic is all about the fact that it's a GPS antenna, and that isn't true.

The most accurate location repeatability typically comes with: Bow unit uses internal GPS antenna, or at least an antenna at the bow, while console units use a GPS antenna located near the transom. ALL units should use the magnet sensor integrated into the Point-1 device - this is the magical solution that stops map spin.

Concerning Lowrance "puck" devices: The white "puck" that comes with a Lowrance Ghost is not a Point-1, nor will it help with map-spin on a display screen. That device is a "TMC-1" - "Trolling Motor Compass 1". It is dedicated to the Ghost and is not visible to other devices. Some have though this is a Point-1, which they then seek to configure. That's not the case, just to help some not fall into the wrong understanding.


So how do I get it set so I dont spin and I'll be on waypoints from the bow unit?

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854399 01/21/21 02:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,229
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,229
Originally Posted by Anthonysince94
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Both...just remember that waypoints will be saved over the Point 1’s physical location, not the transducer location.

If you leave the GPS antenna setting for the bow unit alone, that unit will accurately put you back on the spot, assuming the transducer is on the trolling motor. What is needed for most bass boater instances is to utilize the magnetic sensor that comes as part of the Point-1. So many people think the magic is all about the fact that it's a GPS antenna, and that isn't true.

The most accurate location repeatability typically comes with: Bow unit uses internal GPS antenna, or at least an antenna at the bow, while console units use a GPS antenna located near the transom. ALL units should use the magnet sensor integrated into the Point-1 device - this is the magical solution that stops map spin.

Concerning Lowrance "puck" devices: The white "puck" that comes with a Lowrance Ghost is not a Point-1, nor will it help with map-spin on a display screen. That device is a "TMC-1" - "Trolling Motor Compass 1". It is dedicated to the Ghost and is not visible to other devices. Some have though this is a Point-1, which they then seek to configure. That's not the case, just to help some not fall into the wrong understanding.


So how do I get it set so I dont spin and I'll be on waypoints from the bow unit?


Mount the Point 1 VERY close the the bow graph.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854423 01/21/21 03:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 184
S
SAdoc Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 184
I mounted mine near the transom over the rear transducer.
Set the console unit to use the point one for heading and GPS. Set the bow unit ( If it has a trolling motor transducer) to use internal GPS and only use the Point One for heading.
Works like a charm.

Last edited by SAdoc; 01/21/21 03:04 AM.
Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: SteezMacQueen] #13854575 01/21/21 07:02 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Originally Posted by Anthonysince94
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Both...just remember that waypoints will be saved over the Point 1’s physical location, not the transducer location.

If you leave the GPS antenna setting for the bow unit alone, that unit will accurately put you back on the spot, assuming the transducer is on the trolling motor. What is needed for most bass boater instances is to utilize the magnetic sensor that comes as part of the Point-1. So many people think the magic is all about the fact that it's a GPS antenna, and that isn't true.

The most accurate location repeatability typically comes with: Bow unit uses internal GPS antenna, or at least an antenna at the bow, while console units use a GPS antenna located near the transom. ALL units should use the magnet sensor integrated into the Point-1 device - this is the magical solution that stops map spin.

Concerning Lowrance "puck" devices: The white "puck" that comes with a Lowrance Ghost is not a Point-1, nor will it help with map-spin on a display screen. That device is a "TMC-1" - "Trolling Motor Compass 1". It is dedicated to the Ghost and is not visible to other devices. Some have though this is a Point-1, which they then seek to configure. That's not the case, just to help some not fall into the wrong understanding.


So how do I get it set so I dont spin and I'll be on waypoints from the bow unit?


Mount the Point 1 VERY close the the bow graph.

Steez, you're off base this time. The location of a Point-1 has NOTHING to do with stopping a map from spinning. Any properly mounted Point-1 on the boat can be used to stop map-spin for all displays connected to the NMEA network.

All displays should select the Point-1 as the magnetic sensor (a setting in NMEA devices) to eliminate map-spin. The Point-1 does not have to be VERY close to the bow graph. In fact, if it is, it may not work properly! (due to Electromagnetic Interference from the high frequency signals emitted by the display unit). I think Lowrance prefers them to be 2 feet away from any possible EMI source.

Any bow graph can continue to use the GPS antenna built into the unit (not the Point-1 for GPS). That display and its internal antenna are likely only 2-3 feet away from the TM head that the transducer is mounted under. That's good accuracy for returning to a waypoint and knowing you are on top of it. What about update rate? Well, yes, the Point-1 updates more frequently, but the internal antenna is still fast considering the boat is only being moved at TM speed when the bow graph is in use.

To the original question: Select magnetic sensor in the Point-1 to stop map spin, whether the Point-1 is at the bow or not. (There is no need for it to be.) If the Point-1 is not at the bow, leave the bow graph set to internal GPS antenna. If the Point-1 is at the transom, set console units to the Point-1 for both magnetic sensor AND GPS antenna.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: SAdoc] #13854577 01/21/21 07:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,507
Originally Posted by SAdoc
I mounted mine near the transom over the rear transducer.
Set the console unit to use the point one for heading and GPS. Set the bow unit ( If it has a trolling motor transducer) to use internal GPS and only use the Point One for heading.
Works like a charm.

Exactly how the components should be used for what we do!

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854647 01/21/21 12:13 PM
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
A
Anthonysince94 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Joined: May 2020
Posts: 18
I found how to change the gps source but I cant find how to change the magnetic source.

Re: Lowrance point 1 [Re: Anthonysince94] #13854682 01/21/21 12:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,507
fivebites Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,507
Originally Posted by Anthonysince94
I found how to change the gps source but I cant find how to change the magnetic source.


Youtube?


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2018 Basscat Eyra 250 Proxs
PB Wife of 30 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3