Forums59
Topics1,039,346
Posts13,963,220
Members144,201
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How would your ideal A-rig be designed? Here are my tips. #9753032 02/19/14 07:38 PM
M
Mark Bisson Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
M
Hey guys,
I am wanting to know what everybody's preference on the A-rig is. Also if you want any tips on building your own or how to make a retriever PM me. I have been tinkering with them for a couple years now and I have my ideal rig made. Here is my ideal rig and how to build it. I use .035 stainless wire. I use leader crimps to keep my swivels in place. I use a #3 on the top and a #3.5 on the bottom. I use a swim jig mold to make my hooks. I ground the brush guard nail at an angle so when I pour the lead it doesn't make the brush guard cavity. I like a 4/0 heavy hook that won't bend on big fish. I also like m A-rig as light as possible. I usually rig them with a 1/8 oz head. I also have a wire bender that makes bending the wire easier. I would like to know what rigs everybody else likes and how you rig them. Here are a couple pics of my rig. I also have found out that the Gorilla Brand bottle of super glue last a lot longer than any other super glue I have tried. I put a little bit on the jig head when I rig my bait and it keeps much longer on the bait.

I made my own Arig-retriever. I purchased the lure retriever from Academy that is shaped like a fish. I purchased a retractable dog walker that I attached to. I then purchased the biggest treble hook I could find and put it on the retriever. I ground the ends and crimped the barb. It does a great job of hooking the A-rig wire and pulling it up. I haven't lost one since I started using it. I have torn them up pulling them out of structure though.

Here is my storage bag that I use. I purchased this at academy also

I hope this helps!
Mark

Last edited by StratosRookie; 02/19/14 11:30 PM.

Don't tell your God how big the storm is,