Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Worried about Snakes? #750337 09/26/02 05:01 PM
K.D. Offline OP
TFF Guru
OP Offline
TFF Guru
First off, let me say I'm not a professional nor do I have any formal education regarding snakes. When I started tubing, I asked everyone I could find about the threat of snakes. I heard everything from "Become one with the snakes" to "They won't bother you if you don't bother them." After doing some research I came to find that more people in Texas die from lightning strikes than from snakebites. For more info on those statistics from 1978 to present see this link: http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/expltx/jrnat/bitestats.htm We've all heard you have a bigger chance of winning the lottery than being hit by lightning, so it only reasons that I have a bigger chance of winning the lottery than I do of being bitten by a snake! Makes the threat seem pretty insignificant doesn't it?

Now, regarding the infamous Water Moccasin, who by the way is the only poisonous snake in the water in this area. The copperhead may be close to water, but the moccasin can be in it. I found some good info at this site: http://www.markw.com/fangs.htm This article even has tips on what to do if you do get bit. Basically, if you're within an hour drive of a hospital, the odds of the bite doing major damage are pretty small.

The next thing to do was to learn to identify what I was seeing. Was it poisonous or not? I didn't want to have to get too close to ANY snake to find out, so I learned to identify the markings. These sites will help with that. Don't be overwhelmed by the number of snakes they list. Learn the basics between a watersnake and a water moccasin and you should be OK. A copperhead is pretty easy to identify once you've seen a photo, so the big deal is the moccasin. http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/expltx/jrnat/safesnake.htm
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/expltx/jrnat/snakefaq.htm