Page 1 of 2 1 2
Where are the fish? #648667 12/13/05 02:42 AM
C
Carey49 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
C
For the first time I went to the Brazos below PK. Found the dam tailrace but didn't feel like doing my mountain goat imitation. So, I went back to Rochell's, put my $2 in the mailbox and drove down to the river. It looked great. But I got skunked!

Not only did I not catch a fish, I never saw one fish rise, strike, bite, or anything. I tried everything I had from above the bridge down to the bend.

I know I am a novice, but could I be that bad? Where are the fish?

Thanks.

Carey49
Re: Where are the fish? #648668 12/13/05 03:44 AM
T
TXfly Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
T
Alright, trout are tricky. If you want to catch one, you've got to know where to find them, which is really what you are asking.

I'm not trying to patronize you in anyway or condescend, if you know what I'm speaking of on any of this, to make that clear. But a lot of people do not.

What you need to do is "read the water", this is the process of finding riffles, pockets, and areas in a current or even a slow-moving pool that would most likely hold trout, if you cannot see them that is. Of course, once you know where to look, you are much more likely to spot the trout, instead of having to cast blindly at areas(though this can be just fine, if you are casting to the RIGHT areas).

You've also got to understand that trout are very picky in how they get food. They always feed pointing upstream, in that they can best get food in this manner, or in other words, it comes to them so that they do not have to chase it. It floats on by, and they eat it. Most people know this basic thing, but few really practice it.