Print Thread
Looking for a fly reel, newbie here! #647891 08/11/05 01:30 AM
A
awin Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
A
I gave fly fishing a try this Feb during a snowboarding trip in Utah and am finally getting around to purchasing some tackle. I just picked up a G Loomis GLX 9' 8 weight rod and now need a reel to match. I will admit I am somewhat of a poser and probably a manufacturer's dream consumer. I always try and purchase the high dollar stuff as I believe it equates to higher quality, will make me better at what I do and looks the coolest, lol. I just upgraded all my conventional bass tackle to Loomis GLX and Kistler Helium rods, as for the reels I have 4 Shimano Calcutta TEGTs, 2 DCs a Stella and 2 Stradics. My largest bass so far? A meager 7.5 lber. Oh well, I LOVE to fish! Anyway, I am looking for a nice reel that looks good also, lol. I know fly tackle can get VERY expensive so I would like to start within the 2-300.00 range. I have 2 ponds in my neighborhood that I think are perfect for a fly outfit. I fish them daily and pull anything from 12-16" bass all the way up to 5 lbers. Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Re: Looking for a fly reel, newbie here! #647892 08/11/05 02:19 AM
Fly Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
airfob,
DUDE, you got fish like THAT and I'll give you my reels! Just let me go with ya!
Seriously, some folks will tell you that a fly reel is just a place to store line. I beg to differ with that reasoning. You'll appreciate a good smooooooth drag when you hit Mr. Big and he gets you on the reel in less than 2 seconds.

Also, some folks like a loud clicker. I would respectfully ask them, "why have something that sounds like a stepped on cat when in the great outdoors?"
Be sure to take your flyrod with you when looking for your reel. Some just feel more right than others.
Be sure to consider what type of fish you're after. Do you plan on saltwater or fresh? Be sure the reels components will take the water.