Print Thread
Fishing rapids in the Guadalupe #647234 07/01/05 07:50 PM
M
mike8750 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
M
I used a wolly bugger for the first time on tuesday because i heard they work excellent ...... well i came up with 2 perch the size of my finger... needless to say i was pretty disapointed.... i was throwing it about 45 degrees up stream and leting it float down and stripping it every so often..... then I decided to try somthing different and started throwing it in the middle of the river , deep pools, shallow pools with no luck.... Im new to fishing with sinking flies any tips on how i can look for "fishyspots" when sub surface fishing.... i usually use a crankbait here and kill them on the bank (rebel Crickhopper) ... i dont know what i was or wasnt doing?

Re: Fishing rapids in the Guadalupe #647235 07/01/05 08:43 PM
rrhyne56 Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
hard to say Mike, without knowing any more than that. Any idea how the crank baits would have done that day? If you have a go-to crank bait then perhaps a fly that closely resembles it might br in order.

Each fly has its place, a woolly bugger would fish differently than a crank bait fer sure.

Another point to consider is presentation. Try stripping that woolly bugger like the hounds of hell were after it, make it dash and dart. Might draw the interest of more and bigger fishes.

Also you might give poppers a try off the bank, nothing to make the heart leap like a bass or bluegill blowing up on a popper.

"have fun with this stuff"
in memory of Big Dale
RRhyne56, Flyfishing warden
Re: Fishing rapids in the Guadalupe #647236 07/01/05 11:22 PM
M
mike8750 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
M