Page 1 of 2 1 2
Eating trout?? #59878 01/28/05 03:05 PM
A
ALLANGT Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
A
I had a queastion on the best way to clean and eat trout. I have been catching them for the past ten years, but they were always so small I just put them back in the pond. How is the best way to clean one and then cook it??? I an guessing you don't fillet them like crappie or sandies or drop them in the fry daddy.

thanks for any help

Re: Eating trout?? #59879 01/28/05 03:07 PM
David Lee Offline
Super Freak
Super Freak
If you are catching these from the ponds they stocked them in you are supposed to keep them. I heard people have gotten tickets for releasing them. I used to catch and release them until I heard this. I do not care to eat them but they are fun to catch. Just a heads up.

Originally Posted By: FattyMcButterpants
Yes I did admit defeat. Good job back to back champion
Re: Eating trout?? #59880 01/28/05 03:08 PM
David Lee Offline
Super Freak
Super Freak
As far as cleaning them I have always just cut the head off and gut them. Then put them on the grill. smile

Originally Posted By: FattyMcButterpants
Yes I did admit defeat. Good job back to back champion
Re: Eating trout?? #59881 01/28/05 03:11 PM
buda13 Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
You have to gut em as soon as you catch em to get the best flavor out of em. We used to stuff em with pine nuts and roast em in the coals of the campfire. I have also grilled em. I know a guy that was real good at smacking them on a rock and grabbing the bottom jaw and rippin it off and with that all the guts come out. I could never get it to work right but it makes cleaning them a snap.

Re: Eating trout?? #59882 01/28/05 04:35 PM
S
scott01 Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
S