S
swellcat Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
S
Quote:
The TiCRX is pretty damn stiff.

Kinda begs the question, "Are fly rods supposed to bend?"

Seems like when someone new asks for rod suggestions, those who name specifics often list the stiffest sticks out there. (Are casters well-served by that?) Might be part of how we wind up with "five" weights that need seven weight lines to load.

Disclaimer: I'm no expert; just askin'.

Why Five Weights need Seven Weight Lines sometimes [Re: swellcat] #4555248 03/02/10 08:00 PM
rrhyne56 Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
An excellent reference is the Common Cents article http://www.common-cents.info/

"have fun with this stuff"
in memory of Big Dale
RRhyne56, Flyfishing warden
Re: Line Suggestions for a Ticr 5wt needed [Re: JakeFlycast] #4555361 03/02/10 08:34 PM
G
George Glazener Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
G

N.E. Texas 2 acre and 1/4 acre ponds.
Previously george 1

www.reelrecovery.org

Re: Line Suggestions for a Ticr 5wt needed [Re: George Glazener] #4555367 03/02/10 08:38 PM
R
RexW Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
Gee, this thread has taken several turns. (No surprise at that happening around here. smile )

Ill add a couple of comments. One thing to remember is that every rod model is different and what works well with one rod, may not work as well with another model rod. The best way to decide for sure is to go out and test cast the rod and the line.

The TiCr and the TiCrX are both very fast rods, but they are very different rods and have different tapers. The TiCr is a tip action rod, which means under tension the tip will bend first and as line tension increases the rod will start bending further down. I cant remember the correct technical term, but the X is designed to bend deeper down the rod quicker when tension is applied. The TiCr is technically a faster action rod than the TiCrX, but the X feels faster than the TiCr to me when I have cast them side by side.