Gas Tanks and Static Build-up Explosions #4175753 11/21/09 09:02 PM
T
teckk7 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Folks,

The more and more I hear about static charge build up and the potential for explosions the more I dread filling up my boat.I am trying to figure out what I can do to be safe with the following setup:

16 gallon plastic tank sitting in the rear of a center console. Console has carpet on floor, so when I take my portable 5 gallon can to fill the 16 gallon tank with gas, I'm standing on carpet (this is no good, right?)

I hate to just try and fill the tank up from the gas pump because we have all heard plastic containers must always be on the ground...so if its in the boat, I'm assuming that's just like if its in the back of my pickup, right?

I'm looking for some bits of wisdom, as electricity is something I have limited experience with but know it can kill me. Any help would be really appreciated.

Re: Gas Tanks and Static Build-up Explosions [Re: teckk7] #4175827 11/21/09 09:51 PM
John175☮ Offline
MACHO MAN
MACHO MAN
If you're concerned wet the carpet. Dry makes static. Wet does not.

“Do not pray for easier lives. Pray to be stronger men.†-JFK
Re: Gas Tanks and Static Build-up Explosions [Re: John175☮] #4176018 11/21/09 11:17 PM
N
neverquit Offline
Pro Angler
Pro Angler
N