Page 1 of 2 1 2
Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? #15048179 04/16/24 10:47 PM
S
Sid Post Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
I come from freshwater fishing so, not totally green but saltwater is new to me.

I want to get some basic saltwater gear for in-shore, surf, or bay fishing. I am signed up for the TPWD intro's in Galveston next week and hope to use some loaner gear there though, I will bring along some basic freshwater gear.

I don't want to buy something that is too specialized for a single fishing discipline since I am so new. Will I be fishing off a dock, or in the surf, or something else once I get the basics down? With that thought in mind, what is good today? I want "VALUE" not cheap. I want gear that is solid and won't frustrate me with difficult mechanics or maintenance needs.

And, what sort of budget do I need to get good value-oriented gear? Is there a good store in Dallas or Houston to buy this gear at a fair "street price"?

TIA,
Sid

Re: Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? [Re: Sid Post] #15048194 04/16/24 11:02 PM
P
Pat Goff Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
P
Unless you want to sling hunks of meat for a bite, your bass gear works fine for your bay trifecta, reds, trout and flounder.

You don’t need your stiff rods medium or light action works best.
1/8 oz jig heads for plastics, topwater and maybe a spoon is your arsenal. 15# mono or 20# braid will handle whatever you hook.

Pat Goff
Seadrift TX
[Linked Image]
Re: Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? [Re: Sid Post] #15048242 04/16/24 11:48 PM
F
FishDFly Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
F
Listen to the above.

Anything you need can be found at Cut Rate in Houston..

FDF
Re: Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? [Re: Sid Post] #15048373 04/17/24 01:44 AM
O
Osbornfishing Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
O