Page 1 of 2 1 2
Tire line cast nets vs mono #14007947 05/23/21 10:51 PM
D
DidUReboot Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
D
I was curious whether any of you have swapped from a mono cast net to one of the more durable tire line nets. With the water up like it is right now, a lot more big rocks are hidden and I got my mono net caught once today, rescued it and replaced a brail line, threw it again and caught a rock that broke the remaining braid lines effectively trashing the net. I’ve been looking at the tire line nets, but am unsure whether they open as well as mono, sink as quickly, and whether they’re just a beating on your arms after a few casts. I normally use a 7’ net. Any advice and personal experiences would be great! I’ve got 15 years experience using mono cast nets. I know how to use them, I know that it’s risky, I know what baits to use and where. I simply looking for experiences and advice SPECIFICALLY on use of tire line cast nets vs mono cast nets.

Last edited by DidUReboot; 05/24/21 12:57 AM.
Wet Rooster Jigs Fishing Super Store
Re: Tire line cast nets vs mono [Re: DidUReboot] #14008007 05/24/21 12:04 AM
C
Coolarrow Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
C
Man I have always use mono nets. 7’ most of the time. Never tried one of tire line nets. I don’t think changing nets will stop you from damaging your net though.
I found that it’s when I catch my bait has the most effect. If I’m trying in the day time I scan an area really well looking for bait but also for snags. I’ll find shad on drops schooled up off the bottom and I’ll try to find a spot I don’t see any trees of lay downs. At night I find the shad shallow with a q beam so I’ll hit the places that have clay of sandy banks. Once i have located a few good haunts on a body of water that area usually hold bait seasonally. Not what you were asking for exactly but I think looking around in lake your fishing might help.

Re: Tire line cast nets vs mono [Re: DidUReboot] #14008012 05/24/21 12:05 AM