texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Goins, Brady Sharp, Danny braune, LD Bell High School Fishing, jburds
117259 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 109,183
hopalong 106,289
Bigbob_FTW 82,108
Pilothawk 82,079
John175☮ 81,798
Derek 🐝 67,698
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 66,009
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,140,343
Posts15,538,090
Members142,259
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance (yeah....I know...) #13699935 09/14/20 02:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 222
B
Ben B Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 222
Alright, so I know the Bird guys on here are going to tell me the issue is the wording on the front of the unit where it says "Lowrance", but...

I have 2 HDS Carbon 9's and the one at the console is acting weird. Last weekend it cut out about midway through the day and every time I restart it would just sit on the home screen. Then today it started doing the same thing, but then a different home screen came up - however the lettering was fuzzy...kind of like what you would see on a television. Also - and I'm not sure if this would be related to the issue - but the screen was VERY hot to the touch. Is it possible the unit is somehow overheating? And what would cause that?

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lowrance (yeah....I know...) [Re: Ben B] #13700725 09/14/20 08:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 158
R
rut-roe Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
R
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 158
My gen 2 started doing that and it was a bad connection with my ground wire. I reworked my ground straight to batteries and ended problem.

Re: Lowrance (yeah....I know...) [Re: Ben B] #13701122 09/15/20 03:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 713
Andy W Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 713
I just started having this same issue with my gen 2 up front. I’ve recently pair it with a live unit. I ran 10 gauge wire back with no avail. Scanned the unit with thermal imaging and was getting 121* around the terminal connection at the bottom of the unit. Took the back cover off, inspected connection and clean the circuit board and rescanned with the cover off. Found no abnormal heat around the connectors. The CPU board however, attached to the main board, was running 161*. Both coil packs, heat sinks, were 135* and 152*, seem to be doing their job. I’m not exactly sure what all this means but I’m told that these units are rated for about 130*. My unit will operate fine inside the garage but wig out under the added heat from the sun.


Common sense was lost with common courtesy.

Entech Sales & Service - https://www.entechsales.com/
World Tech Automotive - http://www.worldtechautomotive.com/
Military Plumbing - https://militaryplumbing.com/
Re: Lowrance (yeah....I know...) [Re: Ben B] #13701293 09/15/20 01:20 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 3,382
A
avid_basser Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
A
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 3,382
Had this same thing happened and here's what I did and what actually corrected the issue:

1) Cleaned all connectors with wire brush and added di-electric grease to all fittings including the ones on the back of the units
2) Reviewed my wiring where I could found one loose connection and re-crimped it
3) Replaced my starting battery - Yes this was the culprit, my battery wasn't sized correctly to run my electronics, livewells, and start the big motor after a full day on the water. Went to an Duracell Group 31 AGM and haven't had an issue since.

Please note: each person's experience is different.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3