texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hardinii, polaco, KenB, John Wydner, CPG8787
113777 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,124
hopalong 89,825
Pilothawk 80,198
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,187
Derek 🐝 64,944
Mark Perry 60,731
Tritonman 58,986
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,688
Posts9,906,228
Members113,777
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Shad tank recirculation pump #13698536 09/12/20 08:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
learnin to fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
I have a Nautic Star Hybrid with a bait tank /live well. I need the recirculating pump to run more than it currently does to keep the water filtered properly to keep shad alive. Is there any way to adjust it to run constantly or to increase the cycle time? Is the adjustment on the pump or the control switch?

Wet Rooster Jigs Fishing Super Store
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13698610 09/12/20 09:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
R
rebait Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
R
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
Does the boat have a filter system? I can't keep shad alive in my livewell running constantly. I have to use a filtered shad tank. My boat live well I added one of the variable livewell timers in line with switch to control the pump. It is great for everything but shad. It looks like the Rig Rite Variable Livewell Timer.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13698613 09/12/20 09:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
M
MilesHunter Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
If you are wanting to keep shad alive it should probably be running constantly instead of cycling on and off. Check if it is a cartridge style pump. If so you should be able to easily replace the pump cartridge with a higher gph pump to flow more water.


Miles
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: rebait] #13698617 09/12/20 10:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
M
MilesHunter Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by rebait
Does the boat have a filter system? I can't keep shad alive in my livewell running constantly. I have to use a filtered shad tank. My boat live well I added one of the variable livewell timers in line with switch to control the pump. It is great for everything but shad. It looks like the Rig Rite Variable Livewell Timer.


I DIY’d a filter on the pickup for the record pump that works great. I can keep shad all day now. I’ll try to take some pics of it.


Miles
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13698728 09/13/20 12:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
R
rebait Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
R
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
I'd like to see those pictures for a future project.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13698914 09/13/20 02:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
learnin to fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
The pump is adequate to run enough water. It’s a brand new Atwood Tsunami. I just need to find out if there is an inline delay or if the delay is in the switch so I can buy a new switch and have the pump run non stop. I would LOVE to see your pickup filter. I actually spent some time this afternoon trying to design a pickup filter myself. I really feel that if I can get the recirculation pump running nonstop and figure out a filter then I won’t have to buy an after market shad tank. I’ll be happy to share my idea if I can get it to work.

Thanks for all the help!!

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13698945 09/13/20 02:54 AM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 4,751
T
TCK73 Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
T
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 4,751
On my Nautic Star there is a little timer module wired inline between the switch and pump. You can eliminate that or run a manual bypass on it to get full run time. I played around with a few filters I made and had some decent success. In the end, the capacity of the live well was not enough, and I ended up putting the Grayline back in the boat. I keep Shad in the Grayline, and Bluegill in the live well.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: TCK73] #13701947 09/16/20 01:57 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 10,058
S
Stump jumper Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 10,058
Originally Posted by TCK73
On my Nautic Star there is a little timer module wired inline between the switch and pump. You can eliminate that or run a manual bypass on it to get full run time. I played around with a few filters I made and had some decent success. In the end, the capacity of the live well was not enough, and I ended up putting the Grayline back in the boat. I keep Shad in the Grayline, and Bluegill in the live well.

Bait well on my Champ is the same. If I wanted to run full time it would be simple to swap wires. Highest setting on timer works fine for me. I dont fish all day in hot weather. Once the water temps drop I have no problem keeping shad alive.


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13701991 09/16/20 02:53 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 299
T
Thunk Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
T
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 299
I run my Grayline bait tank all day and rotate water changes and salt Every 2 hours and have lively baits all day.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13702044 09/16/20 04:26 AM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
M
MilesHunter Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
Here is the filter I made for the livewell. It’s just a Tupperware container with a hole cut out in the bottom. I heated up a nail with a torch to melt all of the holes. The intake pipe fits in the hole and it’s secured with the screw-on wire screen filter. I made lots of small holes (1/8-1/4” approx) in the Tupperware container, making sure to put a bunch towards to bottom to pick up all the poop and scales that settle to the bottom. I just fill the container with polyfill and put the lid on. I also use two to three cups of rock salt and keep the pump on recirculate. I’ve had no problem keeping shad alive and healthy for 5-6 hours.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]


Miles
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13702151 09/16/20 11:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
R
rebait Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
R
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 152
Clever ideal I will have to try. Thanks for the pictures.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13703230 09/17/20 02:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
learnin to fish Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 221
Thanks so much for sharing your idea! I came up with something directionally similar that I am trying out this weekend and will let you know if it is successful. If its not I will be setting up the same thing you did. How much salt / gallon are you using?

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13703422 09/17/20 06:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,669
B
Blue Blazer 2400 Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,669
You can use up to 1 cup per 10 gallons. Make sure it is non-iodized salt. I don’t use that much tho. I have a 50 gallon tank. And I usually started with about 2 cups. If you over crowd them they get stressed and need more. If you start noticing their noses are red and a little more.

Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13703513 09/17/20 08:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
M
MilesHunter Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,010
I have two livewell/baitwells that are about 20-25 gallons each. I put approximately 2 cups in each. Doesn’t need to be exact. Be sure you fill the baitwell and keep it on recirculate before you put the salt in.


Miles
Re: Shad tank recirculation pump [Re: learnin to fish] #13703916 09/18/20 11:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 199
P
prosise Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
P
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 199
I fished with a man down in Austin in the 90's who built a bait tank for shad, he said the most important thing he has found is you cannot have any abrupt corners. It needs to be round and smooth, the darn things just keep swimming into the corners and die. The livewell on the picture posted would be a good candidate. Lots of flow, filter, a really good air bubble system, and a way to keep them cool. It is amazing how much they can slime in such a short time. Our baitwell for the coast was round with all the same things, except we constantly input ice. The only thing that was our achilles heal was the ice supply. My champion has a square tank in the back, and the front is pretty much useless IMO for shad. We fill the rear livewell and use them dead or alive. I think shad is better than most anything (dead or alive) than most any bait. We use the shad for catfish when it floods, and that's it. The filter you posted is a great idea, i used to keep a bottle of fish saver which turned the water green in the boat. It helped with bait and i used itduring tournaments.. Have not seen that stuff for a long time, but I am sure there is something similiar out there..

Long live the Shad, "Heck" we need a "Save the shad" bumper sticker..

Prosise

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3