Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How to catch a state record carp #13697592 09/11/20 03:01 PM
JJ4MEL Offline OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Offline
TFF Team Angler
Hey there, I am fairly new to carp fishing and of course I am hooked. I recently hiked and scouted a small 5 +/- acre lake. While there I was able to view multiple common carp that would easily exceed the current state record of 43.75 lbs. The lake is about 30 feet deep +/-. Rocky bottom from what I could tell and clear water. It is a difficult hike to get to an area to fish it. So tackle would have to be a minimum, most likely would have to backpack it in and only take a maximum of 2 rods, but no way to set up rod holders. It is an hour away from home so making multiple trips to "bait" the area will be difficult. The fish I saw were swimming at the top, but also diving down deep out of view. Unfortunately I didn't take any pics.

So my question for you guys with experience, what is the best way to approach this type of fish in these types of conditions? It truly is an amazing location open to the public that is rarely fished and only an hour away.

Re: How to catch a state record carp [Re: JJ4MEL] #13697769 09/11/20 06:26 PM
banker-always fishing Offline
Pumpkin Head
Pumpkin Head