Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Pond fishing legality? [Re: Fishing Punk] #13561463 05/17/20 05:43 PM
D
Dubee Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
D
Originally Posted by Fishing Punk
So i found a pond in Arlington that has no signs prohibiting fishing. It doesn't appear to be on anyone's property. I've been fishing it for around 6 months, occasionally running into other people fishing. Within the last month, a woman that lives across the street from the pond has threatened to call the cops on me. No one fishes it any more. I've pushed my luck and kept fishing hoping she is just bluffing because she doesn't like strangers in her neighborhood, but i have a tough time enjoying my time there thinking i might deal with the lawman.

My question is... there are no signs. There is no gate. The land isn't tended by anyone. It doesn't appear to be on anyone's property, and i can assure it isn't her's.

What risk, if any, am i running by fishing this pond within walking distance with an awesome bass bite?

I'm just wanting to find out if she's got ground to stand on or if she's one of the folks that us fishermen find from time to time.

I have never seen land that wasn't owned by someone. You should just go file paper work to claim it as yours

Re: Pond fishing legality? [Re: Dubee] #13561472 05/17/20 05:58 PM
banker-always fishing Offline
Pumpkin Head
Pumpkin Head
Originally Posted by Dubee
So i found a pond in Arlington that has no signs prohibiting fishing. It doesn't appear to be on anyone's property. I've been fishing it for around 6 months, occasionally running into other people fishing. Within the last month, a woman that lives across the street from the pond has threatened to call the cops on me. No one fishes it any more. I've pushed my luck and kept fishing hoping she is just bluffing because she doesn't like strangers in her neighborhood, but i have a tough time enjoying my time there thinking i might deal with the lawman.