Print Thread
Pond management question #13515675 04/13/20 01:03 PM
F
Fish docter Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
F
I have a small spring fed pond about 3/4 of an acre. We’ve always had bass in it. Years ago 4-5 lb bass were common to catch. Now it takes a lot of time to catch a small one less than a pound. Biggest one I’ve caught was maybe a pound and a half. They look healthy to me. I never have culled any. I don’t know if there’s not enough food source, or if I need to restock and start immediately culling small bass. What are your thoughts?

Cast it, reel it, jerk it.
Re: Pond management question [Re: Fish docter] #13515911 04/13/20 03:43 PM
B
bronco71 Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
B
I am not a professional but I own a pond about the same size, deep and spring fed. I would be culling the the small bass immediately and add a generous amount of fathead minnows to the pond...also helps to add some bluegills.

1987 Nitro MX185/Mercury Black Max 150
1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: Pond management question [Re: Fish docter] #13515955 04/13/20 04:20 PM
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
F