Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Inflatable Life Vest [Re: befuddled] #13413796 01/23/20 02:33 PM
Bruce Allen Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
I found that after a while, I'd say 10 years, that the kits to replace cartridges are not available. So when you buy one also buy the replacement cartridge at the same time.

I've been wearing them for 25 years and many years ago had one go off on the back of my pickup. Nothing like that in the last 15 years though.

About 18 years ago I fell in and did inflate the one I was wearing. And it worked!

I wear it all day long in all weather. It is for MY safety.

Last edited by Bruce Allen; 01/23/20 02:34 PM.

Lake Fork Anglers
Every Thursday
Daytime Tournaments.

Lake Fork Sportsman's Association
www.lakeforksa.com/

We are VERY PROUD of our Induction into the
Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Inflatable Life Vest [Re: befuddled] #13413885 01/23/20 03:23 PM
T
the skipper Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
T
Look for a type 2, not a type 3 IMO. Type 2 are better at turning your head up and are made for being in water longer than type 3.

Re: Inflatable Life Vest [Re: befuddled] #13414514 01/24/20 12:38 AM
O
Ocelot Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
O
Are you aware there is periodic maintenance involved with self inflating vests?
What about past product recalls?
What will you do when you are on a trip and you discover your jacket had inflated since last time in boat or accidentally goes of on you?
There are non inflating life jackets which do not restrict movement and are not hot in the summer that always float you.
Check out the NSR Chinook for one. A gold standard in the kayak fishing world.

Re: Inflatable Life Vest [Re: Ocelot] #13414573 01/24/20 01:39 AM
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Originally Posted by Ocelot