texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cameron Gose, Jetskirentals512, Flashin Assassin Lures, SoonerTex0623, Bobby J.
119181 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
hopalong 121,013
TexDawg 119,783
Bigbob_FTW 95,321
John175☮ 85,918
Pilothawk 83,274
Bob Davis 82,326
Mark Perry 72,486
Derek 🐝 68,321
JDavis7873 67,416
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,038,881
Posts13,954,755
Members144,181
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Finding fish on 2d sonar and etiquette questions #13195921 06/25/19 08:11 PM
C
Cedar Creek Sandman Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
C
Hi all,

I am pretty new to white bass fishing and I really appreciate all the information I have received in a prior post.

Here are a few more questions:

1) I dont have side scan, only 2d sonar. So when I get to a particular underwater feature (for example, on Cedar Creek - St. Annes east, Merimac point, Sams hump, etc), Im not sure how many times I need to go back and forth across the structure to adequately cover the feature in order to determine if a fishable concentration of fish exists. I realize its a combination of how wide my sonar cone is at a certain depth and how big a typical concentration of fish measures. So how big, from an aerial extent is a typical school of whites?

2) When you start your day looking for whites, how do you determine which spots to check out? Do you just start with the known spots closest to you and work your way further and further away or do you automatically eliminate some of your go to spots based on the water depth being too deep or shallow, etc?