texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Wishin4Fishin, Seanv1, Gordonthefisherman, huntermn, Jackson Wyatt
116335 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 106,017
hopalong 101,977
Pilothawk 81,599
John175☮ 80,625
Bigbob_FTW 78,323
JDavis7873 67,408
Derek 🐝 67,328
Mark Perry 65,005
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,147,233
Posts15,617,803
Members141,335
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance TI2 downscan problem #13135872 04/27/19 12:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
D
dpdpete Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
I have a Lowrance elite ti 2 12" graph. The sidescan works great and is very clear at 800 khz. When I switch to downscan, the frequency does not show and the picture is not near as clear as the unit simulator at Bass Pro. I called the Lowrance tech support line and of course you get someone who sounds like from a call center in another country with their only knowledge of the unit is a manual that is in front of them. The person concluded that the transducer was bad ( AI 3-1) and will send another one.
I am wondering if anyone else has had this problem and does this sound like a reasonable diagnosis?
I also felt like Lowrance should pay for the transducer removal/installation as this transducer was bad from the get go. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13136367 04/27/19 04:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
W
Water Filtration Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
W
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
On down scan set at 800 khz, , set palet at #9, set sensitivity at 80, and for Fish Reveal set palet at 13. Hope this helps you.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13136370 04/27/19 04:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
W
Water Filtration Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
W
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Was the antenna A3-1 bad, or was the installation the problem?

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: Water Filtration] #13136647 04/27/19 10:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
D
dpdpete Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
The transducer was bad. No frequency showed up on the menu side. Worked on sidescan but not downscan. The downscan was fuzzy and not clear at all. The tech said they had a few problems with that and mine was not an isolated case. On a good note, Bass Pro is going to replace for free.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13136760 04/28/19 01:25 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
W
Water Filtration Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
W
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Sorry pete meant transducer A3-1. I have the Elite 9 Ti2, working great.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: Water Filtration] #13136768 04/28/19 01:32 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
W
Water Filtration Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
W
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Pete as info I went ahead and purchased the Navionics Hotmaps Platinum South, definitely worth it.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13137383 04/28/19 08:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
L
Lake53Sniper Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
L
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
My first time ever on a forum so maybe you folks can help.

Pete, I have an Elite Ti2 that has also developed the same problem. The frequency no longer shows up on the menu for the downscan. All other functions seem to be normal. I have even reset everything back to factory defaults with no luck. After finding this and one other thread about the same problem, I think my transducer may be bad as well.

My question is this: Can you please give me a telephone number for tech support that actually works?? The only number I can find is never answered after literally hours of being on hold. If you send an e-mail, you might get an response back in about a week but it will be a half answer at best.

Sounds like Bass Pro is taking good care of you. Unfortunately, I purchased my unit direct from the manufacturer.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13137612 04/29/19 12:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
D
dpdpete Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Hey Sniper, Sounds like you have a bad transducer also. I did everything you did plus a hard reset. Yes, I stayed on the customer service line for a long time and left my phone number after about 20 minutes and someone did call back about 4 hours later. I called 1-800-628-4487 which was the number listed on the Lowrance website.

The tech did say that they have had a few problems with this and mine was not an isolated case so it sounds like you might be in the running for a new transducer. They are mailing it straight to me and I am taking it to Bass Pro to put it on. If you don't mind doing it yourself, they would probably mail you a new one also. Good luck!





Last edited by dpdpete; 04/29/19 12:57 AM. Reason: sp
Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13137655 04/29/19 01:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
L
Lake53Sniper Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
L
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Thx Pete. Glad (Sad) to know I was not the only one with this issue.

When I installed the unit, I called with a question regarding the Genesis Live feature. I spent literally hours on hold and do not ever remember having the option to leave a call back number but will try this one and see what happens. I tried by using the "Contact Us" form also. I got back half an answer in about a week.

Not a good way to start with a product that cost over $1000 and is less than four months old.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13138115 04/29/19 04:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
L
Lake53Sniper Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
L
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Pete, I have an update for you. Be aware that if Bass Pro replace's your transducer, I don't think it will resolve your issue. Here is what Lowrance told me this morning:

If you power up the Ti2 WITHOUT a transducer hooked up to it, yes, you will see a separate frequency display on the downscan menu. However, once you hook up an Active Imaging 3 in 1 transducer, this option will go away and it will use the frequency setting from the sidescan page.

Is sounded like BS to me so I tried it and they were correct. Not sure if this will resolve the issue fuzzy picture, but will play with it some more. After all, I am a "Green Horn" LOL

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13139436 04/30/19 03:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
D
dpdpete Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
The tech I talked to didn't seem too knowledgeable so that might be. My picture doesn't seem near as clear as the simulator one at Bass Pro but I am new to this downscan/sidescan stuff also so who knows. I would have thought the tech would have known that was the case. Thanks for the info and I will look into this.

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13140597 05/01/19 02:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
D
dpdpete Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Here is a good youtube video that just came out yesterday from Lowrance on the downscan imaging. If you look under the menu on his screen, there is no frequency showing so it appears that info that Lake53sniper got from them is correct.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4kbIE7jCRk

Re: Lowrance TI2 downscan problem [Re: dpdpete] #13141473 05/02/19 04:26 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
L
Lake53Sniper Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
L
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks for the info Pete. I will check it out.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3