Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: losing fish on the frog [Re: blackhawk19] #12784701 06/08/18 12:45 PM
Ken A. Offline
Groovy
Groovy
Originally Posted By: blackhawk19
Heavy rod with braid. I like the Booyah Padcrusher. Keep your rod tip up on the retrieve. Once a blow up occurs, wait one second and make a gradual pull to make sure they are there. Then lay into them. I don’t recall losing a fish once they are hooked.

+1 I rarely lose a fish on a frog. Sometimes I jerk it away from them but once they are hooked I rarely lose them.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: losing fish on the frog [Re: montyb] #12784819 06/08/18 02:18 PM
Mark Perry Online Content
Super Freak
Online Content
Super Freak
I am no expert by any means. I do throw a frog a LOT and here are some observations that I have learned through my own fishing. I really studied guys like Rojas, Ish and Roumbanis that are frog guys as well. Here are my thoughts.

1. Use the right gear for the right situation. If you are throwing to more open water and light cover you don't need a 7' 6" H power rod. You will get more action out of the frog and enjoy fishing it a lot more and for a lot longer if you choose something a tad lighter to throw. A good fast retrieve reel and 40-60lb braid will cover the bases. In truly heavy cover etc by all means go heavier on your gear. Look at the signature frog rods from the best frog anglers. VERY few are whuppin' sticks.