Page 1 of 2 1 2
Complete noob to fly fishing #12689018 03/26/18 01:33 AM
P
patriot07 Online Content OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
P
My fly fishing adventure began when I bought a $40 kit at Academy in 2015 for a trip that my wife and I took to Durango. I fly fished from the bank for about 5-6 hours total with no luck. Hadn't used my fly setup again til a recent trip to Beavers Bend and my rod broke in the first 15 minutes. Bought a TFO 9' 5-weight from the fly shop to finish the trip. Only fly fished for 3-4 hours but never caught one there either.

We're going to be taking quite a few trips to locations with trout fishing over the next 5 years, so I figured I would get a decent reel and line and try to and learn with. So I got a Cabela's Prestige Premier rod, Rio 5-weight fly line, and good leaders and tippet. Hoping to do some learning on this setup.

Two quick questions:

Is 5-weight good for trout? Would it be adequate for small river bass in Texas?

Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.
- Soren Kierkegaard
Re: Complete noob to fly fishing [Re: patriot07] #12689030 03/26/18 01:38 AM
R
RexW Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
Yes for both questions.

Fly Fishers International certified casting instructor
TFO Rods pro staff
Re: Complete noob to fly fishing [Re: patriot07] #12689051 03/26/18 01:47 AM
M
McKinneyLonghorn Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
M
If you are just starting out and want to catch some fish I would suggest finding a local park that has a pond and going for bluegill. They are usually willing to bite a fly and will put a surprisingly nice bend in that 5 weight. They typically aren't picky regarding fly selection but small (size 10-12) foam hoppers are usually a good starting point.

Re: Complete noob to fly fishing [Re: McKinneyLonghorn] #12689065 03/26/18 01:57 AM
P
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
P
Originally Posted By: RexW
Yes for both questions.
Thanks!