Print Thread
Oily Jigs, Question for the Makers? #12445561 09/28/17 06:30 PM
B
BrazosRiverTom Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
I have pretty much bought crappie jigs from everyone on here and other places too. Now the ones I keep in storage and some I take with me, the bags I keep them in (some of which are the bags they came in) (also which I am glad I do, keeps the boxes from getting messed up) are filling up with some kind of oil. Especially the Thermocline's and a couple of other brands. I took the ones that were very oily out and dried them with paper towel and then soaked up what was in the bag with paper towels. Kinda messy. Now does this mean the jigs are deteriorating? How would I cleanup the bags and continue to store the jigs? Should I just toss them in the trash? (they still look good to me but I am no expert). Appreciate any advise.

Wet Rooster Jigs Fishing Super Store
Re: Oily Jigs, Question for the Makers? [Re: BrazosRiverTom] #12445776 09/28/17 10:34 PM
C
Captain Yakker Offline
Angler
Angler
C
You should leave them in the oil until ready to rig them. Those oils are usually scent enhancers such as garlic or shad.

Fishin' to stock Lake Crisco.
Re: Oily Jigs, Question for the Makers? [Re: BrazosRiverTom] #12446104 09/29/17 02:24 AM
B
BrazosRiverTom Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B