Print Thread
Advice on Rigs for Tuna, Cerveza or Boomvang area. #10125841 07/10/14 04:51 PM
T
Thunderhank Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Hi there. I'm relatively new to offshore fishing (<1.5 years). I have a 28.5' Albemarle with twin Yanmar diesels. My range, if I'm going at the right speed, is close to 450-475 miles, but I never go anywhere near that.

Last weekend I convinced a friend to go farther out with me, and we left from the Freeport Jetties to our destination at the Cerveza rigs to try and catch Tuna. We didn't know what we were doing, but got lucky and caught our first Yellowfin Tuna. Now we are hooked and are going out again this weeeknd. I have all the safety gear, plenty of diesel, and I never turn my engines off. We make it a day trip, so leave real early, and get back to freeport just as the sun is setting, so I'm doing a lot of night driving (although I've gone to falcon at night once).

Because we are not doing overnight trips, it's a lot of travel time, 3 hours each way, which leaves whatever is left in the middle for fishing. Since last weekend, I've done a ton more reading and we have much better plan of attack, from lures to setup, etc. for tuna.

I kind of liked those rigs, there were a few other boats there trolling, and active workers on one of them, so if something went really wrong, there were other humans around.

My question is this: Knowing that we are making it a day trip, is it worth the extra travel time to head farther out to the Boomvang area and surrounding rigs, or will the gap in fishing opportunity not be that large between the Cerveza and Boomvang areas. I think at Cerveza we were trolling in 900-1200ft of water if I recall.

Sorry for the rambling, but as inexperienced offshore fisherman, is it worth it to go a little farther out, or are we good at the Cerveza rigs?

Thanks for your time and advice.

--Jason

Re: Advice on Rigs for Tuna, Cerveza or Boomvang area. [Re: Thunderhank] #10125843 07/10/14 04:52 PM