texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JPhillips1973, RTFishal, H1 ranger, T-RigLunkers, Indignant Angler
119176 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
hopalong 120,944
TexDawg 119,738
Bigbob_FTW 95,265
John175☮ 85,917
Pilothawk 83,273
Bob Davis 82,192
Mark Perry 72,453
Derek 🐝 68,318
JDavis7873 67,416
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,038,729
Posts13,951,609
Members144,176
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Switched to braid but missing fish #9039442 06/16/13 05:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 160
S
surfguy Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 160
I recently switched from 20# mono to 30# braid. I missed a lot of fish once I switched. I know braid is a lot more sensitive but dang..... I'm I setting the hook to early or just little fish hitting bait? I haven't caught one fish on the line since I switched. I want to keep using the braid for casting distance and strength but I also want to catch fish lol. I'm using the same hooks and set up I've always used just the line changed. Any help would be great thanks.

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9039792 06/16/13 09:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 99
P
pafree Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
P
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 99
we keep the line tight just enough that if you lower the pole a little then the line goes loose. sounds funny but we wait for the second bump and then give more of a slow/medium draw back than a jerk unless it is one of those fast, bait stealing micro croaker then they get a quick pop. my son is fishing right now and says the water is hot and the croakers are hitting/steal fast.

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9040261 06/17/13 12:26 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,108
W
wh2004 Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,108
Are you using a leader?

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9040472 06/17/13 01:37 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 27,561
Uncle Zeek Online Happy
aka "Dad"
Online Happy
aka "Dad"
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 27,561
Might be setting the hook too early - you're gonna feel every slight tap & bump, where on the mono you probably only felt significant movement.


"Decency is not news; it is buried in the obituaries --but it is a force stronger than crime" ~ Robert A. Heinlein
Artim Law Firm, PLLC
Estate planning & tax attorney
2250 Morriss Road, Suite 205, Flower Mound, Texas 75028
972-746-0758 mobile
zac@artimlegal.com
Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9041048 06/17/13 05:46 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 890
J
Jean Scurtu Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 890
If you fish with braid is better to use fluorocarbon leader. Normal you must catch more fish with braid.
Why you use so thick braid ??If you fish before with 20 lb. mono why you don't fish with 15 lb.-20 lb. braid???


Jean Scurtu

"BORN TO FISH,FORCED TO WORK"
Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9041730 06/17/13 02:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 403
H
HuntinForTail Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
H
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 403
What kind of fishing are you doing?

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9042057 06/17/13 03:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 160
S
surfguy Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 160
Manly surf and jettie fishing. I use 30# braid cause I've lost a lot of big fish that broke my line or spooled me. Yes I use a leader sometimes. Carolina rig with a 1oz egg sinker and 30# mono abt 18" long. When I just want to catch small fish I use a double drop leader. When I feel the bite I set the hook. I'm thinkin I set the hook when I shouldn't cause I can feel a lot more with the braid.

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: surfguy] #9042146 06/17/13 04:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 403
H
HuntinForTail Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
H
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 403
Let the fish take it a little before setting the hook. As said above you feel every little nibble with braid. Also you don't need to do huge hook sets. Just a little pop will do it.

Re: Switched to braid but missing fish [Re: HuntinForTail] #9042328 06/17/13 05:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 500
F
fastpitch Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
F
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 500
30# braid is the same thickness as 10# mono.


The Republic can survive a Barack Obama, who is, after all, merely a fool. It is less likely to survive a multitude of fools such as those who made him their president.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3