texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kelsey, S.McD, Coop_134, ictoamna, Javi6274
118693 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 116,753
hopalong 116,099
Bigbob_FTW 91,069
John175☮ 85,118
Pilothawk 83,047
Bob Davis 74,898
Mark Perry 69,835
JDavis7873® 67,416
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,028,201
Posts13,755,015
Members143,693
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 3 of 117 1 2 3 4 5 116 117
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel] #6362542 07/04/11 06:09 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
H
HappyHooker Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
H
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Thanks Bobby. I was confused. I thought the two worked together and the lss-1 module interpreted the data and created an image. Man I wish I could get my images looking that good. I can't see pilings from docks and and stumps off to the side of the boat but when I go under a bridge the pilings from it show up clear.


Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #6370224 07/06/11 06:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
B
bassndad Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
Thinking about buying an HDS with structure scan, I currently have a lowrance 520 at the bow and 27c at console linked together. Would move 27c to bow and install hds unit at console with ssi. So questions are:

1) Can i use the current 83/200 transducer(blue connectors) in my bilge for the hds?
2) What type of connectivity or trading/sharing of info can occur between the hds unit and 27c?
3) Is it worth the price to jump from a bundled hds7 with ssi and purchase the hds 8 and then purchase the seperate ssi unit?

Thanks

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: bassndad] #6374284 07/07/11 06:42 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 892
J
John Vogt Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 892
1) Can i use the current 83/200 transducer(blue connectors) in my bilge for the hds?

Yes

2) What type of connectivity or trading/sharing of info can occur between the hds unit and 27c?

Good question....I know for sure that you can share waypoints

3) Is it worth the price to jump from a bundled hds7 with ssi and purchase the hds 8 and then purchase the seperate ssi unit?

You can purchase the HDS 7 and the LSS-1 cheaper as a bundle. If you are looking to have a second HDS unit, you will not need to purchase an additional LSS-1. The LSS-1 easily networks via ethernet with up to three HDS devices.

Hope this helps



Last edited by John Vogt; 07/07/11 06:48 PM.
Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: John Vogt] #6380263 07/09/11 12:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
This big pile of concrete and steel is the remnants of the old Pendelton Harbor bridge. I couldn't find much remaining of the main steel span but there was an additional 1500 feet like shown in the picture.


Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Bobby Feazel] #6386665 07/11/11 05:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Mike Iaconelli Lake Guntersville Roadbed. You tube video

http://youtu.be/pycTWTjoETw


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Jason Gilstrap] #6388371 07/11/11 10:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 15,099
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 15,099
Hey Jason I bought a 7 bundle. Will the gauges (you know, the tach, fuel, etc.) work with a 99 Yamaha Vmax? If so where can I buy the cables?

Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: grout-scout] #6388448 07/11/11 11:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
I would call Lowrance CS dept for that question. If so this part #..

Yamaha Engine Interface Cable - Red Part # 120-37 $79.95
Interface between a Yamaha engine and NMEA network to display engine data. Comes with a T connector. For use with red NMEA network.

Works with: NMEA 2000 Compliant Units

http://www.lei-extras.com/store/search.asp?SearchType=Category&Category=LowranceNET+Red


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Jason Gilstrap] #6388591 07/11/11 11:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
H
HappyHooker Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
H
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Originally Posted By: Jason Gilstrap
Mike Iaconelli Lake Guntersville Roadbed. You tube video

http://youtu.be/pycTWTjoETw


Thanks For the video Jason. Very informative


Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: HappyHooker] #6412547 07/18/11 07:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Some posted this on Lowrance Facebook and I would like to share this awesome screen shot.




to see a bigger picture go to Lowrance FaceBook page.
https://www.facebook.com/Lowrance


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Couple of pics. [Re: jsplinter] #6413840 07/19/11 12:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 15,099
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 15,099
Not too many pics on here so I'll add a few for the fellas thinking about buying a new unit. The Lowrance is a plug and play unit with the di/si, there is no adjusting that has to be done to get good pics, just turn it on & go. The other brand requires fine tuning to get clear pics. (That's for the guys researching the units & trying to decide on a brand.)

Whats under your boat?


Down deep!


Rockpile with side imaging.


Same rockpile downscan.


Roadbed while lake was being built?


Same roadbed with the downscan and the thermocline..


Last edited by grout-scout; 07/19/11 01:56 AM.
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter] #6442620 07/26/11 03:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Side scan of feeding cormorants.


Down scan of cormorants above. Look at the school of fish they are going after.


Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel] #6471428 08/02/11 11:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,290
The GPS refresh rates on Lowrance HDS units come from the factory with a default “auto” setting. This auto setting adjusts the GPS refresh rate based on your speed. Some settings work pretty well from the factory, but this is not one of them. If you’re speeding down the lake, the refresh rate is fast. If you’re idling slowly down a ledge, the refresh rate is very slow and does not update the micro movements. This causes serious update delays… causing your unit to live in the past. If precise boat positioning is important to you — and it should be — you want real time updates.

The best way to get around these slow refresh rates is by going into the “Waypoints, Routes, and Trails menu.

1) Press “Page”

2) Press the right arrow on the cursor pad to scroll over to “Waypoints, Routes and Trails”

3) Use the arrows to select “trails” and hit the “menu” button.

4) Use the cursor pad to highlight settings, then press the enter button

5) Change the “logging type” to “Time”

6) Finally, set the time to “1 sec”. Press close and exit out.


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Jason Gilstrap] #6472119 08/03/11 02:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 187
B
blueball Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 187
thanks for the tip jason,mine were on auto,i planned on buying the 4000 antenna when i bought my 2 hds-7 and 2 lss-1 units,but am very pleased with the internal.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: blueball] #6473718 08/03/11 03:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,236
R
RudyDep Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,236
Thanks Jason, i'll check/change that setting on both of mine this evening! Totally unaware of this! Thanks for the help with my LSS-1. I changed out the power cable and everything is working fine. You're awsome!

Last edited by RudyDep; 08/03/11 04:26 PM.

http://thetacklesmith.com
http://www.lakefalconfishing.com
http://austin.trackerboatingcenter.com
http://www.jigs4bass.com
http://www.primarytackle.com
http://www.grandebass.com/

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. The MARINES don't have that problem."
President Ronald Reagan 1985
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: RudyDep] #6478047 08/04/11 04:00 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,236
R
RudyDep Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,236
Can you tell me how to input gps coordinates directly into the HDS7? I have someone that is willing to share some waypoints with me and is giving me the coordinates. Ill need to input them so I can find some fish!!!

Last edited by RudyDep; 08/04/11 04:02 PM.

http://thetacklesmith.com
http://www.lakefalconfishing.com
http://austin.trackerboatingcenter.com
http://www.jigs4bass.com
http://www.primarytackle.com
http://www.grandebass.com/

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. The MARINES don't have that problem."
President Ronald Reagan 1985
Page 3 of 117 1 2 3 4 5 116 117
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3