texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Joe U, Swampgy, OCCASIONAL CATCHER, billf, scottcc
117826 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 112,106
hopalong 110,025
Bigbob_FTW 85,735
John175☮ 83,711
Pilothawk 82,600
Mark Perry 67,829
JDavis7873® 67,414
Bob Davis 63,876
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics1,149,443
Posts15,694,078
Members142,826
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Drill Battery Livescope Setup? #14548445 11/28/22 03:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 553
Medinalakeguy Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2018
Posts: 553
Just recently heard of people running depth finders off of 18v drill batteries and was wondering the benefit of doing so? Additionally, what set up are you running? Have 3 head units and a live scope wondering if it is feasible to run a similar setup. Any help would be appreciated, thanks,


Falcon Rods > G.Loomis
2004 Skeeter ZX250
JIMBO WINBO
Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548519 11/28/22 04:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,404
Fish Killer Offline
Big Sexy
Offline
Big Sexy
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,404
I looked at it and really didn't see any advantages to it. I went with a small dedicated lithium battery instead to run both the black box and the head unit. I think the main factor besides portability, if your trying to go that way, is being able to wire directly to the factory harness without any long line runs and added connections.


LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

You want to make a difference in life? Take a kid fishing!
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548570 11/28/22 04:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
David Welcher Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
Tried it with some 18V Milwaukee batteries, bought the adapter and they are really cheap, but it just doesn't last that long, you will probably need 6 of them to go 8 hours, it's amazing how much voltage the Garmin Livescope set up uses.

Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548599 11/28/22 05:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,010
C
coachallentca Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
C
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,010
I use Milwaukee 18v and I get about 3 hours maybe a little bit more out of a battery. I already had them so that is what I use. When I don't use turn livescope on I get about 4 to 5 hours out of one.



Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: coachallentca] #14548604 11/28/22 05:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
David Welcher Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
Originally Posted by coachallentca
I use Milwaukee 18v and I get about 3 hours maybe a little bit more out of a battery. I already had them so that is what I use. When I don't use turn livescope on I get about 4 to 5 hours out of one.

Mine are at least 6 -7 years old, and I believe are only 2 amp hour batteries.

Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548658 11/28/22 06:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
4
4Weight Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
You need at least a 6 amp hour battery. I have been running the Dewalt hack with 2 batteries for a couple of years with the Sea Lite Adapter. Routinely got 4-5 hours running the black box only. The other day one of the prongs on the Sea Lite broke and the adapter has gone from 29 bucks to 49. Thank you Brandon.

I made the decision to go to a 12V 23 AH small Dakota Lithium switched for my set up. I get the battery tomorrow and will proceed that way. With black friday sale, it was a much as having to pay some to rewire back to the bilge so I went that direction.

Good luck.


Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548663 11/28/22 06:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 139
T
T21x Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 139
I run one 18v 9 amp hr dewalt battery setup, It lasts me about six hrs. Have another 5 amp hr i carry to change if needed

Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548666 11/28/22 06:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
4
4Weight Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
T21x,

Correct me for the OP but I believe you can't run the Garmin Graphs with anything bigger than that 18v. That may even be too high. I know the 20v will burn up the graphs.

I have my graph's hard wired to the cranker and my set up again was for the black box only.

4W


Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: 4Weight] #14548676 11/28/22 06:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,404
Fish Killer Offline
Big Sexy
Offline
Big Sexy
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 27,404
Originally Posted by 4Weight
You need at least a 6 amp hour battery. I have been running the Dewalt hack with 2 batteries for a couple of years with the Sea Lite Adapter. Routinely got 4-5 hours running the black box only. The other day one of the prongs on the Sea Lite broke and the adapter has gone from 29 bucks to 49. Thank you Brandon.

I made the decision to go to a 12V 23 AH small Dakota Lithium switched for my set up. I get the battery tomorrow and will proceed that way. With black friday sale, it was a much as having to pay some to rewire back to the bilge so I went that direction.

Good luck.


My 30 amp hour will run the black box and my 1022 for 2 days before needing charged


LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

You want to make a difference in life? Take a kid fishing!
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Fish Killer] #14548681 11/28/22 06:33 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
4
4Weight Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
Originally Posted by Fish Killer
Originally Posted by 4Weight
You need at least a 6 amp hour battery. I have been running the Dewalt hack with 2 batteries for a couple of years with the Sea Lite Adapter. Routinely got 4-5 hours running the black box only. The other day one of the prongs on the Sea Lite broke and the adapter has gone from 29 bucks to 49. Thank you Brandon.

I made the decision to go to a 12V 23 AH small Dakota Lithium switched for my set up. I get the battery tomorrow and will proceed that way. With black friday sale, it was a much as having to pay some to rewire back to the bilge so I went that direction.

Good luck.


My 30 amp hour will run the black box and my 1022 for 2 days before needing charged



Yeah I have two buds in Amarillo that run this little 23ah and they have to recharge every other trip. Looking forward to the new set up.


Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: David Welcher] #14548762 11/28/22 07:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,536
slim 285 Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,536
Originally Posted by David Welcher
Originally Posted by coachallentca
I use Milwaukee 18v and I get about 3 hours maybe a little bit more out of a battery. I already had them so that is what I use. When I don't use turn livescope on I get about 4 to 5 hours out of one.

Mine are at least 6 -7 years old, and I believe are only 2 amp hour batteries.


You need bigger ah batteries . I know guys using dewalt 5ah and he changes once day . I know a guy using one 12ah and he can go all day .

The best set up using that I have heard are using a 12ah for the box and one for the head unit . You will have plenty that way .

It’s more popular with the crappie bunch than bass fishing

Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: 4Weight] #14548775 11/28/22 08:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
David Welcher Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,215
Originally Posted by 4Weight
T21x,

Correct me for the OP but I believe you can't run the Garmin Graphs with anything bigger than that 18v. That may even be too high. I know the 20v will burn up the graphs.

I have my graph's hard wired to the cranker and my set up again was for the black box only.

4W

24V is the max

Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: David Welcher] #14548844 11/28/22 09:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
4
4Weight Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
Originally Posted by David Welcher
Originally Posted by 4Weight
T21x,

Correct me for the OP but I believe you can't run the Garmin Graphs with anything bigger than that 18v. That may even be too high. I know the 20v will burn up the graphs.

I have my graph's hard wired to the cranker and my set up again was for the black box only.

4W

24V is the max


10-4 thx


Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548862 11/28/22 09:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 110,025
hopalong Online Confused
Pescador Loco
Online Confused
Pescador Loco
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 110,025
this is about as much as 3 18 or 20v tool batteries, much easier to deal with imo. next on my list, for 3 93sv and livescope then the start battery.

https://lithiumhub.com/product/12-volt-30ah-battery/


" Hop, set the hook"!
hopalong 99,999
TexDawg 99,999
FJB! not my president by a long shot!

lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Drill Battery Livescope Setup? [Re: Medinalakeguy] #14548883 11/28/22 10:25 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
4
4Weight Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,238
Here is what I bought. About the same size as the Ionic and smaller in width if going up from in storage.

https://dakotalithium.com/product/dakota-lithium-12v-20ah-amp-hour-23ah-lifepo4-battery/

Last edited by 4Weight; 11/28/22 10:27 PM.

Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3