texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
xHAWGZx, bfstackledirect.com, NTX.VEN, JSL219, Bird78
119082 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
hopalong 120,088
TexDawg 119,194
Bigbob_FTW 94,509
John175☮ 85,862
Pilothawk 83,248
Bob Davis 80,538
Mark Perry 71,961
Derek 🐝 68,279
JDavis7873 67,416
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,036,385
Posts13,910,522
Members144,082
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Help with Livescope update in Longview Tx areay help would be appreciated. #14443027 08/08/22 04:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 81
J
just one more Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
J
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 81
Looking for someone who can help me do the update on my livescope unit in the Longview TX area. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Help with Livescope update in Longview Tx areay help would be appreciated. [Re: just one more] #14443134 08/08/22 05:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,164
C
CrazyCrappieGuy Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
C
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,164
Call Gamin, your best help will come from them.

Re: Help with Livescope update in Longview Tx areay help would be appreciated. [Re: just one more] #14443473 08/08/22 11:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,025
S
SoonerDG Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,025
The Bass Tank has a great video on YouTube with a step by step walk through. Just did mine the other day. Get ActiveCaptain on your phone and it practically does everything for you


"Life is a matter of luck and the odds of success are in no way enhanced by extreme caution." - Erich Topp, German U-boat Commander, 1943.

When in doubt, set the hook.
Re: Help with Livescope update in Longview Tx areay help would be appreciated. [Re: just one more] #14443516 08/09/22 12:13 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3,676
K
Ken Gaby Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
K
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3,676
Best advice is call Garmin. May take a wait on the phone but it's worth it.

I had trouble getting the update to load on the Garmin unit. Called Garmin and rep tried to help with loading. Update was on the card but wouldn't upload to the unit. So the rep gave me another route.

If you don't have active captain on your phone, take a clean SD card and load in the unit. Go to the active captain prompt on the screen and load the software to the card.
Rep said this makes the software download to the card think it's downloading to active captain. Once active captain is loaded, take the card to the computer and download the software update. Once the Garmin update is downloaded to the card, return the card to the unit and follow prompts. Once I did this, the update loaded easily.
Once download is completed, go to installation and select restore factory settings. After this step, the unit recognizes the updated software.


A life without God is like an unsharpened pencil, it has no point. Billy Graham
www.thermoclinelures.com "Helping YOU catch MORE & LARGER fish!"
http://www.crazyanglertackle.com Premium crappie baits and jig tying accessories
http://www.proanglertackle.com Best crappie and catfish rods/reels
http://www.beereadys.com World's Best Rod Holders
Re: Help with Livescope update in Longview Tx areay help would be appreciated. [Re: just one more] #14443734 08/09/22 04:19 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 236
D
D Miner Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 236
The easiest way is to download the updated firmware and uncompress it onto a SD card, and put that card into the head unit. I never could get the ActiveCaptain app on my iphone to do the update.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3