texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BassFishin357, Stinkbait2015, TimTim, Gonzo24, C.Eller556
116345 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 106,043
hopalong 102,017
Pilothawk 81,603
John175☮ 80,651
Bigbob_FTW 78,375
JDavis7873 67,408
Derek 🐝 67,331
Mark Perry 65,019
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,146,079
Posts15,596,958
Members141,345
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Helix 12 transducer question #14220612 12/14/21 04:00 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
Y
yankee817299 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Y
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
I am running a Helix 12, Gen 4, that uses the transducer thats incorporated in a Ulterra TM. Would I be able to connect this unit to a transom mounted transducer and switch back and forth between the 2 transducers?

Re: Helix 12 transducer question [Re: yankee817299] #14220951 12/14/21 10:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,890
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,890
Yes, one at a time (disconnect one and connect the other manually) if the transom transducer is the same type as the built-in Minnkota transducer.

There are three Helix 12 G4N models, which one do you have and what transducer is inside the trolling motor?


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N and G4N, 1198c SI, SOLIX 10 SI G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI and G3, MEGA 360, MEGA LIVE, RC-1
Re: Helix 12 transducer question [Re: yankee817299] #14222332 12/16/21 01:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
Y
yankee817299 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Y
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
Thanks for responding Wayne.

My unit is a Helix 12 Chirp, MDI+. I have been looking at HB's website and found two model numbers of what I think will work, but I'm not positive.

# XNT 9 HW MDI 75T with corresponding part numbers 710295-1 and 710296-l.

Re: Helix 12 transducer question [Re: yankee817299] #14223674 12/17/21 08:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,239
S
sprigsss Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
S
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,239
I gwt much more sonar.detail with my SI transducer than my thru hull transducer but i cannot get depth readings when on plane.

Therefore i mounted a transducer switch on my console that both of my transducers are connected to and then connected that to the sonar portion of the Y cable that connects to graph.

Now when on plane i put my switch on Transducer 1 and as soon as i get off plane i switch to Transducer 2 for more.detail.

Im sure the best approach would have been to properly install the thru hull transducer in the first place, but it has been working for me.

Re: Helix 12 transducer question [Re: sprigsss] #14223961 12/18/21 02:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
Y
yankee817299 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Y
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 49
Did you get this transducer switch through Hummingbird?

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3