texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ecg, DraughtC, robertsonc, Scenic515Cabins, Gauge14iv
115607 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 103,265
hopalong 97,692
Pilothawk 80,994
John175☮ 79,447
Bigbob_FTW 74,781
JDavis7873 67,408
Derek 🐝 66,787
Mark Perry 63,178
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,152,575
Posts15,759,748
Members140,607
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax #14017203 06/01/21 12:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
S
Stump jumper Online Content OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
I am wondering if I can adjust my throttle cable at the motor and tighten it up some. The problem is my throttle handle hits my radio at WOT. My other option is to put a shim between the console and control box. I have had to make the radio cover removable. [Linked Image]


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Stump jumper] #14017336 06/01/21 02:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
Whaler-170 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
If you remove the cover on the controls at the console there should be two through bolts in slotted holes, one on the front and back. Loosen them and adjust the controls where they are tilted back and it should give you enough clearance from looking at the picture.

Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Whaler-170] #14017556 06/01/21 06:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
S
Stump jumper Online Content OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
Originally Posted by Whaler-170
If you remove the cover on the controls at the console there should be two through bolts in slotted holes, one on the front and back. Loosen them and adjust the controls where they are tilted back and it should give you enough clearance from looking at the picture.

I have tried that but the cutout in the console is a little tight. I will look at it again. I may just need to enlarge the cutout.


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Stump jumper] #14018139 06/02/21 03:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
Whaler-170 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
Originally Posted by Stump jumper
Originally Posted by Whaler-170
If you remove the cover on the controls at the console there should be two through bolts in slotted holes, one on the front and back. Loosen them and adjust the controls where they are tilted back and it should give you enough clearance from looking at the picture.

I have tried that but the cutout in the console is a little tight. I will look at it again. I may just need to enlarge the cutout.


That what I did on my binnacle controls and worked for me. I’m pretty sure that adjusting the cables at the motor would put them off center between forward and reverse. If you have to shim it I would use starboard, it cuts and routers like wood if you haven’t ever worked with it.

Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Whaler-170] #14018313 06/02/21 12:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
S
Stump jumper Online Content OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
Originally Posted by Whaler-170
Originally Posted by Stump jumper
Originally Posted by Whaler-170
If you remove the cover on the controls at the console there should be two through bolts in slotted holes, one on the front and back. Loosen them and adjust the controls where they are tilted back and it should give you enough clearance from looking at the picture.

I have tried that but the cutout in the console is a little tight. I will look at it again. I may just need to enlarge the cutout.


That what I did on my binnacle controls and worked for me. I’m pretty sure that adjusting the cables at the motor would put them off center between forward and reverse. If you have to shim it I would use starboard, it cuts and routers like wood if you haven’t ever worked with it.

I didn't honestly think I could adjust the cable at the motor but thought I would put it out there. I was thinking about using a plastic cutting board if I shim it. Shimming may be best option because the top of my cover hits the control box now.


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Stump jumper] #14018692 06/02/21 06:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
S
Stump jumper Online Content OP
TFF Guru
OP Online Content
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,052
I got it tilted back enough to work fine with radio cover off. Control cover fits flush now too. It had slipped from my last try. I added some washers on the bolts and tightened up good.


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: Throttle cable adjustment Mercury Optimax [Re: Stump jumper] #14019596 06/03/21 04:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
Whaler-170 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 204
Good deal. If you need a piece of starboard let me know, I think black is all I have left in 1/2” thick.
Good looking boat you have, I love the center console boats!

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3