texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JTHunts, thumperthree, WTXfishing, Diamond D, landclearer
114673 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 100,612
hopalong 94,357
Pilothawk 80,701
John175☮ 78,676
Bigbob_FTW 71,261
JDavis7873 67,401
Derek 🐝 66,114
Mark Perry 62,221
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,141,021
Posts15,588,736
Members139,673
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
2 screens vs 1 screen?? #13645499 07/26/20 11:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
C
CrankBank Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
C
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 6
Thinking of upgrading electronics. I’m looking at either a 12 inch screen at console or two 9in screens. Cost wise it’s about the same. Any info on pros and cons of either would be appreciated.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645510 07/26/20 11:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 94,357
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 94,357
I would go with the 12" and use split screen if I needed multiple views.

I run one 9" on console and 2 on bow, all garmin, panoptix livescope on bow with dedicated unit, another for whatever other view I may want and console is for graphing and some maps for contours/features.


" Hop, set the hook"!

TexDawg 99,999

lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: hopalong] #13645513 07/26/20 11:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 11,689
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 11,689
Originally Posted by hopalong
I would go with the 12" and use split screen if I needed multiple views.

I run one 9" on console and 2 on bow, all garmin, panoptix livescope on bow with dedicated unit, another for whatever other view I may want and console is for graphing and some maps for contours/features.


Absolutely agree. There are times when a 12” ain’t big enough to see the details...a 9 is frustratingly hard to see the details.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645534 07/27/20 12:08 AM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,388
R
ReelSlow Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,388
I have a 9" Garmin on the console (center console bay boat) Added a HB Helix 12" and kept the 9" there as well. I like having the Garmin on down image sonar and flip the HB between side image and Lake master. That 12" HB is amazing compared to the Garmin.


GOD is good!
Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645581 07/27/20 12:34 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 8,390
Tiltman Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 8,390
2 nines on console, I dig it

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645686 07/27/20 01:57 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 4,956
tmd11111 Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 4,956
I run a bay boat and have two 9's on the console and a 7 on the bow. One of these days going to add a 9 or 12 to the bow.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645692 07/27/20 02:04 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 9,605
BCBassCat Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 9,605
Only so much resolution on a single screen no matter how you split the views. I only have a single 9 at the console. I can see the benefits of having 2.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645695 07/27/20 02:11 AM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,465
A
avid_basser Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
A
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,465
I'm looking at getting a second 9 at the console. Had two graphs at the console of my other boat, 5" & 7". Used the 5 to map and the 7 to side / down scan. Man I miss that setup. Now with all the advancements, 2 9" would be the best.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645700 07/27/20 02:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 2,578
F
Finesse Master/ Dropshot king Online Embarrased
Extreme Angler
Online Embarrased
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 2,578
9 and 12 console, 9 on maping/2D, and 12 on di/si.

only have a 9 on front with mapping and 2D lol

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645728 07/27/20 02:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,910
21xs Elite Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,910
I have two 12 lives at the console, if I had it to do all over again I’d go with a 16 instead. May sell both of them and the boat logix mount make the switch anyway.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645739 07/27/20 02:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 350
TajChauvin Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 350
I had a 9 and a 7 a few years back on the console. The 7 was off to the right and used for navigation. During a tournament on the red river I was looking to the navigation graph to find my line. When I looked back forward all I saw was logs. Ended up on a sand bar in 3 inches of water. Sold that unit off to the right as soon as I got back home. Since I’ve been using the unit directly in my line of site while navigating. Just something to consider.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645819 07/27/20 06:17 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,242
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,242
A single 12" will use less power, and mounting hardware will cost less. If you do two 9" screens, consider a dual unit mount on the dash (something like Bass Boat Technologies side-by-side Mounts) if that is feasible for your boat. That approach is usually considered a bit pricey, but is often a more user friendly approach than mounting one unit far to the right. As stated above, be sure to plan using a unit in line with looking ahead for navigation. How tall are you sitting in the seat? Can you see over a 12" unit when looking ahead? I mounted mine a bit lower than standard in order to insure I had a clear view ahead.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645827 07/27/20 08:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 4,130
B
Bobby Milam Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 4,130
If I recall right there is a pretty big difference in resolution between the 2 units. I think H=10 is where the resolution jumps up. I looked into it a couple of years ago and found that it was better to run one 12 instead of two 9's. If I had an old unit then I'd keep it or even buy a cheap old used unit to run as the 2nd screen just for running map screen and then run 3 screens on the 12.

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645830 07/27/20 08:48 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,242
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,242
Good point Bobby! You are correct at the higher resolution for the 12s the last time I did that comparison - at least in Lowrance..

Re: 2 screens vs 1 screen?? [Re: CrankBank] #13645887 07/27/20 11:39 AM
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,468
i-Fish Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,468
I’ve got a single HDS Gen 3 12” at the console. Gets the job done but the new boat will have a 16” for sure.


If you can't find em wind em.
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3