Print Thread
swimbaits! Why use them? #9450887 11/02/13 05:13 PM
K
Kent Meadows aka Team Hooligan Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
K
After reading a few comments on Soje’s post I wanted to clarify a few things in regards to the big baits.
1st, Im no expert in this field, very few are. They are the innovators of this sport and most come out of California whose lakes produce the high teen, low twenty pound bass. The Cali lakes are high pressured, clear, and have a population of heavy protein carrying trout. The Cali anglers found that the bass loved to eat trout 8”, 10” 12” and perhaps even bigger. Hence the swimbait as we are speaking of was born.
Ok I know we don’t maintain a population of trout here in Texas. We do have Crappie, sunfish, shad, and most important in regards to big swimbaits …little bass. Face it, big bass devour smaller bass, gobble them up. I say this so you can get a picture of why those Cali trout shaped baits work in a state that has no trout. They look a lot like baby bass in size and shape.
Those bigger fish feed a bit differently than the 18” schoolies. Not saying you cant catch big fish on small baits!(2 of my DD’s came off a jig, only 1 came off a swimbait) Just saying that big old fat gal would much rather ambush a 5” blue gill than get in open water and chase down a 2” shad. I know of no one who is throwing big baits (8” plus) to catch numbers of fish, although it does happen on some days.
We throw the big baits to increase our chances of enticing that fish of a lifetime to bite. It gives us that extra edge to get a big fish to determine whether or not its worth the effort to swim up and feed on that prey. Think, 1 big easy meal swimming by is just to much for her to ignore. As with all predators it’s the sick, slow, injured that get noticed. This is exactly what many of these big baits portray. Big easy meals.