Forums59
Topics1,039,956
Posts13,973,211
Members144,225
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? [Re: Osbornfishing] #15054798 04/23/24 02:31 PM
S
Sid Post Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Originally Posted by Osbornfishing
I use a 6500 Abu Garcia reel on a 6.6 ft med/hvy ugly stik rod. I have a bunch of them and use them in freshwater and the bay. They are fine for 99% of the fish in the bay. You may need something bigger if you fish the jetty. Good luck and let us know how you do.

banana fish fish fish banana

I'm thinking one of my larger Abu Garcia 6500's loaded with some braid and a new rod will be a great introductory option for me in the bay.

My Jetty experience in Galveston is not something I particularly enjoyed for reasons of the Jetty itself, people around me, and the atrocious parking situation. Pier fishing somewhere else though, is something I would like to try.

I will definitely be back to the Bay! Even if I don't catch anything big enough to take home, the action when you find those little guys is huge fun!

Re: Saltwater fishing gear for a total newbie? [Re: Pat Goff] #15054815 04/23/24 02:43 PM
S
Sid Post Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Originally Posted by Pat Goff
Your equipment is just tools in a toolbox. The real question is how are you planning on fishing? Which might be a hard question if you're just starting.
Boat, wade, bank?
Bay, surf, jetties?
Target fish? Trout, redfish, flounder or something bigger?
Artificial or meat slinging?

Wading is your cheapest entry. Like told, a wading belt for your net and stringer, wading boots and a shirt pocket will get you started.