Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Re: Women in tournaments [Re: LunkerXpress] #14913230 11/30/23 03:20 PM
T
tsspencer2887 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
T
As a fisher-woman, I think it's primarily a numbers game. Low representation means less chance of women being at the top of the field. I'm of the mindset that sponsors are a big help to making ends meet but shouldn't (theoretically) be a requirement for success.

IMHO, this starts early. I cannot count the number of times that I was told by classmates, friends, and even adults that fishing was "a boy's sport." The idea is still ingrained today that fishing (and hunting) is not for women. I've been fishing for over 30 years but a few years ago, on an offshore trip, a deckhand pulled a rod out of my hands, "let me show you how to do this."

I don't think this changes by telling young men/boys that girls/women can fish. This changes by convincing women/girls that they can fish. I continued to fish as a kid because I enjoyed doing it and was stubborn enough to keep going no matter who told me otherwise. I volunteered at a BSA event last month as an angler educator and made a point of telling kids (boys and girls) that if there's a sport you enjoy, go play it. Don't listen to anyone who tells you that's a boy sport, girl sport, black, white, brown, or purple sport.

My opinion is there's no reason that a woman couldn't win the Classic but the reason that more women don't fish is because someone told them they can't.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Women in tournaments [Re: LunkerXpress] #14913272 11/30/23 03:54 PM
Sinkey Offline
Tidy Scoop
Tidy Scoop
Half of you guys sound like women! roflmao

Re: Women in tournaments [Re: C_Fisher] #14913339 11/30/23 04:37 PM
R
RedRaider3933 Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
Originally Posted by C_Fisher