Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
thereason11, Lady808, PReaux, Midland RV & Boat Storage, GoHappy Fishing
102718 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82867
hopalong 74390
Pilothawk 73430
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59880
Tritonman 56823
Derek 56405
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52223
facebook
Forum Stats
102718 Members
61 Forums
859038 Topics
11269420 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11356670 - 01/19/16 04:40 PM Lowrance Upgrade Questions
Klinger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/22/15
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
I am looking to upgrade my console electronics from an Elite 5 HDI to a HDS 7 or 9 Gen 2 touch. I expect to move the Elite to the bow for some time until I get a second HDS unit I can network. A few questions though if anyone has some knowledge on it, I would sure be grateful for the feedback.

1. Is there a functionality difference between the 7 and 9? (processing speed, response time, etc?)
2. Can I use the HDI transducer I already have mounted?
3. Will my power cord remain the same?
Both are blue connectors and appear they will transfer which would make for an easy install if all I needed then was the LSS transducer. Which brings on my next questions:

4. My understanding is the LSS 2 transducer plugs directly into the unit. So the module box is not needed?
5. Is there a benefit to having the module box at this point?

Thanks in advance for any insight on this.
_________________________

Top
#11356795 - 01/19/16 05:46 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 759
Loc: Waco, TX
1. No difference in processing power.
2. Yes, you just need to select the hdi transducer from the sonar menu settings
3. Same power cord
4. Yes, Lss-2 transducer will plug directly into the back of any hds touch unit.
5. Not really.

The hds 9 and 12 will have one more ethernet port than the 7 which will allow you to network another ethernet capable Lowrance.

You can't network a elite 5 to any hds due to the 5 not having a nema or ethernet network

Top
#11356810 - 01/19/16 05:52 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
Klinger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/22/15
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
Javelin, Thanks for all the answers. Helps make the decision to pull the trigger that much easier. I knew about the inability to network the Elites when I got it it. Wish I had spent the extra money at the time and gotten the HDS. Short sighted on my part. Do you know if all generation HDS' networkable? Or if I got a Gen 2 would I still need to network with the same or newer Gen?
_________________________

Top
#11356839 - 01/19/16 06:04 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 759
Loc: Waco, TX
All hds series have at least 1 ethernet port.

You will gain certain features by networking with another Gen 2 ir higher though (navionics map sharing or the ability to use 1 map card for both graphs at the same time)


Edited by javelin150 (01/19/16 06:05 PM)

Top
#11357415 - 01/19/16 09:37 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
There are some killer deals on gen2's right now. Last time I posted the places that are the cheapest my post got deleted, so if you'd like to know shoot me a pm and I'll tell you 3 places to check.

Top
#11358931 - 01/20/16 03:23 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
jfdawson Online   happy
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 848
Loc: Frisco, Texas
one thing to add... it's my understanding that you if you plug in the HDI and LSS2 Transducers into the same unit, the HDI will only do Sonar. I might be wrong on that, but something to note.

Top
#11364465 - 01/22/16 10:16 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
Klinger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/22/15
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
Thanks guys. New unit is on its way. Hoping to have it in the boat for next weekend.
_________________________

Top
#11373079 - 01/27/16 05:05 AM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2019
Loc: Yantis, TX
In addition, HDS 9 and 12 units have an additional card reader.
_________________________


Top
#11374667 - 01/27/16 04:15 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9099
Loc: Coppell Tx.

Contact my good friend Justin. He will get you taken care of on any Lowrance products.

http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbt...00#Post11374400
_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We install & educate as well!!! 972 737 8161


Top
#11378347 - 01/29/16 06:14 AM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
OkieBob Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/11/05
Posts: 4151
Loc: Dickson, OK
Klinger, first, I love your Lund! I have one too!
One thing you need to consider is the Point One gps antenna and it only connects with NEMA network. Bite the bullet and get the Nema starter kit from David and network both units with it. You'll be glad you did.
_________________________
I'M SOONER BORN, SOONER BRED AND WHEN I DIE I'LL BE SOONER DEAD!
Chickasaw proud.
CallMatthew@972-754-1698 http://jigumjigs.com

MEMBER WALLY MARSHALL'S MR CRAPPIE PROSTAFF
MEMBER JIGUM JIGS PROSTAFF

Top
#11380294 - 01/29/16 11:12 PM Re: Lowrance Upgrade Questions [Re: Klinger]
Klinger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/22/15
Posts: 42
Loc: Texas
Thanks Okie. I absolutely love my boat. I took a long time looking. I held on to the old boat until it was beyond use and my wife named it "[censored] boat". When this one came home she said "That's pretty" so we named it the "Pretty Crappie". I think I kicked tires at so many different boat places people were done with seeing me. In the end it was an article about the plant in NY, the tons of good feedback I read on forums, and the way the boats are built that pushed me over the edge. Saw a Youtube video recently about the plant and how they are built. Pretty cool to see. Far more hand built than I realized when I purchased it.

I decided to start out with the 7" Gen 2 touch. I figure I will use that for a long while and then move it to the bow and get a second HDS. I figured I would network them at that point. Does the NEMA work for both the HDS and Elite models. I didn't realize they were at all compatible. The NEMA stuff is a bit of a mystery to me. Truthfully, I thought it was just for connecting to your motor.
_________________________

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide