texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Brasberry, Ryan Butler, Hemingway, TxFalcon, Stan D
109268 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,106
hopalong 78,911
Pilothawk 77,517
John175® 69,819
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,665
Tritonman 58,392
LoneStarSon® 54,816
Mark Perry 54,775
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics777,005
Posts12,998,580
Members109,268
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12578016
01/14/18 05:06 PM
01/14/18 05:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
T
Texas Sam Offline OP
Green Horn
Texas Sam  Offline OP
Green Horn
T

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
The bow unit and console are set the same. To be 100% sure I also copied the Bow setting onto a chip and the install those settings on the Console. It worked for a while then it changed back.

Other than this on the console unit, it works exactly like should.

Next trip out I plan to take the bow unit and install in at the console.

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12578220
01/14/18 07:57 PM
01/14/18 07:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
You did install the newest update on lowrances website, right? Sometimes they’ll have a bad software update and then they’ll release a new update to fix issues.

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12578313
01/14/18 08:55 PM
01/14/18 08:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
T
Texas Sam Offline OP
Green Horn
Texas Sam  Offline OP
Green Horn
T

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
Yes the latest has been installed. Did that when the problem 1st started and overtime there is an update, I install it.

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12578804
01/15/18 01:54 AM
01/15/18 01:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
Geez.... how long have you had these graphs? Any chance of sending it back in?

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12579723
01/15/18 07:07 PM
01/15/18 07:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,275
Plano, TX
U
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler
UJC  Offline
Extreme Angler
U

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,275
Plano, TX
Ok, you've done hard resets, probably soft resets, checked software, etc. So you've deleted wpts/trails, etc. If you haven't 'Purged' wpts/trails, then you need to do that. That will free up memory. Just because they are deleted, wpts/trails stay internal memory. Purging will free up memory and the unit's speed can usually seem to run faster. On Gen 1s, this is a major issue because there is only one menu that allows for purging and it is not documented in the manuals. Fortunately, purging is part of the deletion menus in Gens 2+.

I'm going by memory (I have a Gen 2 and 3). Go to the 'FILE' menu, scroll to Wpts/Routes/Trails, highlight, touch/press enter, then Details. I may have this a little mixed up but it should get you close enough to figure out. The screen will display how many wpts/trails and space it is taking up. Keep this in mind. Every time a wpt/trail (not sure it does this for trails) the wpt remains stored but not completely removed. It must be Purged for complete removal. Just be sure wpts/trails are safely saved to a card before purging. I am not completely sure if a hard reset removes the wpts/trails from the 'black hole'.

For example, if a unit has NEVER had any wpts and it is loaded with a 1000 wpts, then these 1000 wpts are deleted, they will show deleted on the wpt/route/trails menu screen; however, if you go to the FILE menu, click wpts/routes/trails, then details, it will show you 1000 wpts in the 'black hole'. These take up memory. This is why my GEN 1 HDS 8 'blew up'. Lowrance has updated menus, screens and documentation on this major overlooked instruction.

I don't think this is your problem, but at least it will give you more memory if in fact, you have been deleting but not purging wpts.

I'd still probably have my Gen 1s if I had known this. When fishing a lake, I only have the wpts/trails for that lake on my unit - or at least I thought, before I knew about purging, which I learned too late in the game. I have several lakes with over a 1k of wpts, and many 'safe' trails, mini trails, connector trails, etc. I fish a lot of timber so with TOW, I create safe passage, especially in low water conditions that I can use when the lake is higher.

After returning from a fishing trip, and preparing to fish a different lake, I will save those wpts/trails, to a card and computer, make updates on the computer as needed (skipping all the complicated stuff I do), then delete the existing wpts/trails on the units after safely storing that info, then DELETE them, and load the next lake's wpts/trails. BUT - the deleted wpts are still there because I didn't know about PURGE. I actually read the documentation manuals and Lowrance never had PURGE in their manuals for GEN 1. A search on the .pdf file shows no 'purge'. If I had deleted and then purged the wpts/trails, I probably would still have the Gen 1s, as they were good units. With ROTSITIN, how many more fish am I going to catch in a year's time?

I don't know if you mentioned it in your posts above, but try connecting the Ethernet cable to one of the other LSS ports if you haven't already. A good friend and I both had a somewhat different issue a while back with 'No Structure Scan'. It would work intermittently. Mine worked most of the time and his worked seldom. We bought new Ethernet cables and the issue went away for both of us - just a thought.

Good luck!


LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy
Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12580205
01/16/18 12:35 AM
01/16/18 12:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
T
Texas Sam Offline OP
Green Horn
Texas Sam  Offline OP
Green Horn
T

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
UJC, thanks for the info, I will try the purge as you suggest. My thinking has been that it is either a software issue in that I truly was not clearing out everything from memory or the LSS2 is malfunctioning and telling the console it is a spotlight unit.

But as soon as I can I will try your suggestions.

I went to theFun n Sun event this weekend and spoke to Clyde McAfee, lowrance Pro staff, and he said, the next time I am on Fork and if the unit is still acting up he offer to help me out.

thanks
Sam

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12582036
01/17/18 02:14 AM
01/17/18 02:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,267
Tulsa, OK
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Jason Gilstrap  Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,267
Tulsa, OK
Did you complete remove your spot light transducer kit? ie spot light nmea cord to your nmea set up.


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12582180
01/17/18 03:31 AM
01/17/18 03:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
T
Texas Sam Offline OP
Green Horn
Texas Sam  Offline OP
Green Horn
T

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
I have removed it completely. I replaced the Spotlight Transducer completely. It was replaced with an LSS2 mounted at the trolling motor. The bow unit is connected to this transducer and has never been a problem. (the console unit is the one that is acting up)

I have several thing to try per suggestions above:

reload operating system
purge memory completely
disconnect connections between the two units (E and nmea)
last resort replace console LLS2 transducer

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12586014
01/19/18 06:58 PM
01/19/18 06:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
T
Texas Sam Offline OP
Green Horn
Texas Sam  Offline OP
Green Horn
T

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
To everyone who gave me suggestions thank you.

End result is the transducer is bad, when I put an old LSS-1 on (just for testing) the issue did not reappear, changed back to the old LSS-2 transducer, the problem appeared.

I suspect there is an open or short in the LSS-2 unit telling the Console that a Spotlight is attached.

It nows works like it should

Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12586602
01/20/18 02:22 AM
01/20/18 02:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 538
Abilene Tx.,
W
W B Offline
Pro Angler
W B  Offline
Pro Angler
W

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 538
Abilene Tx.,
Me head hurts.. lol


Re: I have a problem Lowrance [Re: Texas Sam] #12586691
01/20/18 03:02 AM
01/20/18 03:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Offline
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,329
Boerne, Texas
I never would have thought, glad to hear that you figured it out though.

Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2