Texas Fishing Forum

South Padre Newbie

Posted By: Mikewalerak

South Padre Newbie - 12/23/19 02:07 AM

I’ll be down at SPI visiting my dad at Isla Blanca Park Jan 15. What should I expect to catch on the jetty what gear should I bring. Is too water worth trying in the morning? I’m pretty new to fishing at SPI but plan to figure it out. Also, What should I use to try and get redfish from the beach? What else is worth trying?
I’m a Mn fella just looking to enjoy the fishing.

Next question. If I went out on a party boat bay fishing what tackle should I bring to maximize my fish catching abilities?
Posted By: V-Bottom

Re: South Padre Newbie - 12/23/19 02:27 AM

Redfish are really easy to catch if they are around. Fresh cut bait, maybe a MH 7' rod and a reel that can handle at least a 30# class line and leader line. Can't say what the current will be like but choose an appropriate type of weight. I always use a Carolina rigged setup using an egg weight or a spider weight. As far as the beach thing....same rig but a different rod , maybe 11' MH.
Posted By: Curt0407

Re: South Padre Newbie - 12/23/19 02:50 PM

I was down there in late November and fished from the jetty near the bait stand. Caught a wide variety of fish on fresh dead shrimp. I was using regular bass tackle. Sometimes the current is pretty strong so you may have to use some fairly heavy weight. I also used some shrimp flavored Fish Bites.
Posted By: Beak47

Re: South Padre Newbie - 12/23/19 06:16 PM

Welcome to the Forum Mike!

Re: South Padre Newbie - 12/25/19 03:50 PM

Another silly question. If I’m out on the jetty, does a guy make long casts and fish on the bottom? Short cast and fish in the rocks? Short cast and fish with a float over the rocks? Bobber over deep water? I’m experienced in all MN fishing but jetty fishing is pretty new to me.
Posted By: Curt0407

Re: South Padre Newbie - 12/25/19 07:48 PM