Texas Fishing Forum

First ties

Posted By: Chuck Sheridan

First ties - 04/27/12 03:45 AM

These are my first ties let me know what yall think...

Posted By: RowdyRankin

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 04:11 AM

Great color combinations....the only think I would do different, and this is just my opinion, is shorten your tail lengths. That will help reduce short strikes. I'm not an expert so take that w/ a grain of salt:-) your in trouble now! Welcome to the addiction!

Posted By: Radtexan

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 04:15 AM

Welcome to the madness.......Rowdy is correct,,,,but the combo's are good.

Posted By: Bobcat1

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 10:08 AM

Nice ones!

Posted By: CrappieHappy

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 11:47 AM

nice work..

Posted By: Jig Man

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 12:09 PM

Looks good to me... welcome

Posted By: Chuck Sheridan

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 12:32 PM

Thanks guys... I tried a couple of them out yesterday and maybethe tails are a little too long got a couple of bumps but no fish on the hand ties... I did catch some on some SMS plastics. I might trim these guys up a little and hit the lake again today if the wind will lay down some. I know my trolling motor got a workout yesterday...

Posted By: Squeaky

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 12:40 PM

They look good, but I agree.... Need to shorten tails a bit... We all did it at the beginning...The color combos are great!
Keep it up, and post some more pics!!

Posted By: bull squat

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 02:11 PM

Not bad at all. You will get some very helpful advice from other tyers on this forum and answers to questions you may have. Keep the pictures coming and keep tying your own jigs, nothing like feeling the "Thump" on a jig made with your own hands.

Posted By: Bentley

Re: First ties - 04/27/12 05:08 PM

They all look good. Shorten the tail up like the other guys have said and they will look fine. I am not the best but I kept tying and tried different materials to get better.