Texas Fishing Forum

crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock

Posted By: OutdoorTxs

crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/19/11 08:17 PM

Hey guys

Well, after years of trying, I finally get my dad to get back to the lakes and do some fishing with me. Only problem is he loves catfish, and im a crappie fisherman.

Anyone willing to share some tips on locations or baits to use on lakes around the lubbock area ?

I'm a newb when it comes to catfish, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Posted By: Fisher77

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/19/11 10:41 PM

I have had good luck at white river lake using bass minnows.

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/20/11 02:27 AM

ill have to try that out, thanks!
Posted By: Bluecatkayak

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/20/11 03:29 AM

fisher how low is white river right now. could you unload a boat down there? I live in lubbock and plan on doing lots of fishing this summer just dont like going to alan henry and paying so much or driver 3+ hours to a different lake. Also poney where do you catch crappie at?
Posted By: Fisher77

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/20/11 05:10 AM

Its about 16 foot or so low. Yes you can unload a boat there, no problem. The side ramp by the steak house is useable, and the ramps by the campground close to the dam are useable. They also have some makeshift ramps open as well. Place was buzzing with boats memorial day weekend.

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/20/11 05:13 AM

i was at white river last weekend, and both boat ramps were usable. lots of boats in the water.

found some crappie in brush along the north side of the lake. no keepers, but ill take any crappie i can find at white river. lol
Posted By: Lga043

Re: crappie fisherman looking for catfish near lubbock - 06/20/11 11:12 PM