Texas Fishing Forum

The Hunt for the Monster Catfish

Posted By: Bluecat Bob

The Hunt for the Monster Catfish - 01/11/23 04:37 PM

I love catching big blues. Nothing like battling a big fish, to me I consider them freshwater sharks.

I am fairly new to the sport coming from freshwater fishing in the UK, to trout and bass fishing in the USA, and now on a steep learning curve with big cats. Huge thanks to El Gato and Catfish Tim who are masters at this, and been kind enough to coach me on techniques and tips.

I have had success, quite a few big fish lifted over the gunnels but the more I learn it seems the less I know.

[Linked Image]

So the past three of my last four trips in my boat have been skunk days, and the one day I caught fish they were small cats not needing my net.

So I have questions. We know some days are better than others. A drop in air pressure prior to a weather system coming in, warmer southerly winds.

So do Catfish eat every day? Or do they eat/gorge when they can typically when the food is plentyful? I have discovered that the typical blue eats between 2 and 5% of its own body weight each day. That’s almost 3 pounds of food every single day for a 50 pound fish. That’s a lot of shad and a gazillion threadfin. Do they eat this in single sittings or munching when they can?

Do they eat more in the spring pre spawn? What about the summer heat? Do they feed up for the winter? I know in the summer months the bite will be on at daybreak but will often stop dead after 10am.

I am looking to go out again this Friday, but a change to a northerly wind and a drop in temps. I can’t help but think this might turn them off but to quote Catfish Dave ‘you don’t know till you throw’.

I also know a bad day out fishing is better than a good day at work.

[Linked Image]

So wotcha got? Any knowledge/data on patterns?
Posted By: CaptnC

Re: The Hunt for the Monster Catfish - 01/11/23 04:52 PM