Texas Fishing Forum

Caught a few on a full moon

Posted By: KEGracing

Caught a few on a full moon - 08/23/21 01:43 AM

Had not had a chance to get out for a couple of weeks... work always gets in the way of fun. School and football started... you all know the drill.

Nathan and I decided to go do a little night fishing since it was so hot out, and we had a full moon. Left the dock about 8, right at sun down. Knew the wind had been out of the south all day, and decided to go graph some of the south facing shore lines and drop offs, figuring bait might be blown up that direction. Found bait easy around the dock, and off we went. Short ride and first place we started scanning, marked bait and fish. Found most of them in about 15' on edges that were going out into 25' water.

I am still learning how to use the planer boards, and it was dark now, so I decided to not fight that and just drift a few baits old school. Had fresh shad and bluegill, and some jello chicken.

Had just gotten all the rods out and drift sock set, and had a good takedown. Nice eater size fish. Few minutes later another, and another. Moved to another point, and was slow, moved to more fish we found, and it got hot for a little while with some doubles. Caught a couple of nice fish, nothing huge, but a lot of fun. Probably caught 20 - 25 fish between 9 11:30. Couple of dinks, and couple of nicer fish, but most just good solid eaters. About 11:30 the bite just stopped... went back to first place we fished, still marking fish but drifted half hour and not a bite. Decided to call it a night. We kept 3 for dinner (just finished eating - fried some and grilled some - left overs for taco's later this week). Everything else released for another day and to become toads!