Texas Fishing Forum

Eagle Mountain Flatheads

Posted By: Brady S

Eagle Mountain Flatheads - 08/12/20 08:19 PM

I'm a flathead noob, live close to the lake and was wondering if anyone could offer any advice on catching some flatheads on EM? I have a boat and am wanting to take my kids out to run jugs with live perch. We'd love to keep a few eater size and throw back any trophies. Should I expect to catch them shallow? Or is the water too hot? Does anyone know what depth the thermocline is right now? I'd be fishing the southern end of the lake.

Thanks for your help.
Brady
Posted By: TxCatfishGuide

Re: Eagle Mountain Flatheads - 08/12/20 10:59 PM

Thermocline sits at about 22 feet, that will almost always be the depth of a thermocline on Texas lakes.

For any fish, flatheads included, you'll need to stay above the thermocline or in water depths shallower than 21-22 feet. Find them on your graph, there's no magic depth for flatheads. They're creatures of habitat and habit.

This is a horrible time of the year to run jugs. If you're going to do it you need to stay on the water with the jugs and check them often and even then you'll lose fish. The water is hot and deprived of oxygen and the fish will die quickly when left on a setline. There's unfortunately a LOT of juglines out there with dead fish on them right now because people can't seem to understand this. You'll lose bait just as quickly when fishing live bait.
Posted By: Brady S

Re: Eagle Mountain Flatheads - 08/13/20 02:29 AM

Thank you
Posted By: Catfish Lynn

Re: Eagle Mountain Flatheads - 08/13/20 03:48 AM

Brady, Even though I fish Lake Limestone mainly, Chad is pretty correct. At this time of the year, with the heat & thermocline, you basically have to stay right on your jugs, If not, either dead fish or dead bait.