Texas Fishing Forum

Fish Finder Rec’s

Posted By: Skippy

Fish Finder Rec’s - 04/14/22 12:11 AM

I’m relatively new to the fish finder game having grown up bass fishing. I started sand bass/hybrid fishing about five years ago. Since I started, I’ve been using a Lowrance Elite 7ti. Fishing about 30-40 times a year, I finally got comfortable identifying fish and using the side scan. It died this week. Lowrance basically told me that I’m screwed. No repair. No replacement. No suggestion as to what to do. They were kind enough to offer me a new unit at full price. I passed and now need to buy a new unit. All I really need is 2D sonar, down scan, and side scan. I don’t use much else. I’ll set waypoints here and there but that’s about it. I’m not technically savvy at all. Like, at all. A 7” screen fits my boat dash perfectly. I’ve researched the Humminbird Helix 7 units and am leaning that way. I hear Garmin is also great. Lowrance can suck it. If you’ve had any experience with these units or suggestions, please let me know. Thanks.
Posted By: Sawyer S

Re: Fish Finder Rec’s - 04/14/22 12:52 AM

I used to have 2 elite ti's and a helix on my boat but I recently replaced all of them with solixes. I liked the Helix better than the ti's because the picture quality is really good. The Chirp Sonar and Mega DI and SI are awesome. It's not as user friendly but it's definitely worth it. Also, if you get Lakemaster Plus, you can see a Google Earth satellite image on your chart which I really like.

Re: Fish Finder Rec’s - 04/14/22 02:15 AM

Good to know. Thanks.
Posted By: prosise

Re: Fish Finder Rec’s - 04/15/22 06:24 PM