Texas Fishing Forum

Troller v Slabber - Etiquette

Posted By: Skippy

Troller v Slabber - Etiquette - 07/20/20 08:33 PM

I had an incident this morning where a guide got upset and began to lecture me about “fishing etiquette”. Although I’ve been fishing for 40 years, the huge majority of that was bass fishing so I’m not totally familiar with “trolling etiquette” so I thought I’d see what people on here thought. For the past three mornings, this guide and I have been fishing the same point. He is trolling. I am slabbing. Not surprisingly, we found fish in the same area/depth. He was trolling on a line about 250 yards long. I’ve watched him go back and forth for three days. I tried to be respectful and cast to the fish but they hit much better if I could get on top and drop down to them. Eventually, I try to get on top of them and stay out of his way as best as I could. If he was trolling 250 yards, I tried to get outside his line (at the “255 mark”) Evidently, I did not. So, each day, he would pass literally within a foot of my boat. I ignored him and just looked at it like it’s a public lake and there are plenty of fish for everyone. Today, I got sick of trying to stay out of his way so I tried a couple of other spots but couldn’t find them anywhere like they were stacked at this one point. So I went back a couple hours later, and he was still there. Back and forth. I did my usual and this time, he passed within six inches of my boat and started bitching about how it’s fishing etiquette to stay out of his way. I told him I didn’t know what his exact “line” was and figured he could veer ten feet off his course for basically 2% of his line. Also worth noting, he had been running this line for literally four hours. I was there before him this morning and know when he started. Anyway, I know we’re getting into the trolling season and although I don’t like it, I definitely understand guides doing it to make their customers happy. I want to be as friendly with them as po