Texas Fishing Forum

Athens/Big Bluegill Tips?

Posted By: Dan90210 ☮

Athens/Big Bluegill Tips? - 10/19/22 02:44 PM

Hey Fellas.

I am headed to Lake Athens for a "romantic" weekend with the wife at nice little lake front cottage we rented.

What romantic trip does not include a day on the kayak alone spent trying to catch what has been very elusive to me... a 10inch+ bluegill. I want one bad and figure Athens is a good place to finally close this deal.

Any tips or suggestions on what to look for in a good spot? Preferred rigs or baits? Depth maybe? We will be there the last weekend of October.

I am no bluegill expert but my plan is currently to rig a drop shot style rig with a small 1/8th curly tail grub as the "drop" and a bait holder hook about 18inches up with a piece of nightcrawler or Gulp nightcrawler and get to work with that where I am marking some suspect looking fish.

I will be fishing from my kayak.

Any thoughts or tips are totally welcome! I want to get this monkey off my back! Thanks in advance fellas.

PS I made a graph to visually demonstrate my current plan.

[Linked Image]

Re: Athens/Big Bluegill Tips? - 10/19/22 02:50 PM

Also I promise yall follow up and give yall closure on this! Pics and full report.

It bums me out when guys ask for info or tips for a trip coming up and then you never hear how they did or what worked well or not. I wont be that guy!

Even give yall a review and deets on the rental cottage... in case you might want to go on your own "romantic weekend" that included fishing some lol.
Posted By: Vogey

Re: Athens/Big Bluegill Tips? - 10/19/22 04:10 PM