Texas Fishing Forum

Anybody Sabiki?

Posted By: boocat

Anybody Sabiki? - 07/28/19 08:45 PM

Maybe I'm late to the party, just discovered these.
Posted By: Marc-62

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/28/19 10:07 PM

I've been using them for more than 10 years . They are great for catching offshore bait you can catch 2 & 3 pinfish at a time.
Posted By: banker-always fishing

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 12:42 AM

I have never used them! thumb

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 12:47 PM

As much as I have surfed tackle on the net , I have never run across them. Sure , back in the day we would tie 2 jigs on a line for sand trout but I have never seen the sabiki rig. I just ran across them by accident while checking out cheap stuff on Chinese amazon ( Ali Express ) I really didn't realize they were all tied together, I just saw some little ghost shrimp looking baits that I thought looked interesting so I ordered them. They arrive and I found them all tied together and found out what they were. I actually separated one rig to use individually and kept 2 as they were. Seems like the crappie guys would be all over this?
Posted By: gar1970

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 01:20 PM

Tried them for crappie. Too much trouble and too many tangles. Ill stick to my single jigs

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 01:32 PM

Originally Posted by gar1970
Tried them for crappie. Too much trouble and too many tangles. Ill stick to my single jigs

Kinda thought that could be the case.
Posted By: Laker One

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by gar1970

Friend of mine used them a couple of times. Way to many tangles! nuts

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 01:43 PM

anyway, I can cut them apart.
Posted By: Gitter Done

Re: Anybody Sabiki? - 07/29/19 02:52 PM

Originally Posted by boocat
anyway, I can cut them apart.

I have seen them but I do not know anyone using them. I would just use single jigs or other artificial baits.
Posted By: Rionator