Texas Fishing Forum

Bowfin

Posted By: olenarey87

Bowfin - 08/12/13 04:12 PM

First of all I'm not positive bowfin count as rough fish so sorry if this is in the wrong section.
I caught my first bowfin today (by accident). I was fishing next to some good cover with cut sunfish and that thing hit my bait like a freight train. It was a blast. Only like 3-4 pounds I'm guessing, maybe 5. I thought I was pulling in a 10-15 pound flathead. It was a good fight and I released the fish to fight another day.
I had some questions about it though seeing as I have zero experience with them:
1) are they any good to eat?
2) if try are good to eat, what is the legal size? I didn't see anything about bowfin on the TPWD site.
3) if not good to eat, are they legal to cut up and use as bait?

The answers to these questions might be on TPWD but I did not see them in my quick search. I did notice bowfin isn't listed as a game fish so does this mean its fair game?
Thanks for any info.
Posted By: Max_S

Re: Bowfin - 08/13/13 01:34 AM

Bowfin are rough fish, so there shouldn't be any size or bag limit, nor any closed season. I've never tried to eat one, but I know people who have and they weren't impressed.

On the other hand, it's a shame that we don't get them here in central TX (as far as I know), they're a cool-looking fish and strong fighters. I guess you've been catching them somewhere near the Louisiana or Arkansas borders?

Re: Bowfin - 08/13/13 03:29 AM

I caught my first one today and it was an awesome fighter. Yes I am by the Louisiana border also.
Posted By: Mudshark

Re: Bowfin - 08/14/13 03:24 AM

They are here in all Texas waters. Trust me on this. They are in my opinion the hardest fighting fish found in freshwater. They will flat out tear up your terminal tackle.

Re: Bowfin - 08/14/13 04:59 AM

Yeah I have caught 2 the past couple days while fishing for catfish. They were a blast!
Posted By: dead_eye_dick

Re: Bowfin - 09/06/13 02:16 AM