Texas Fishing Forum

Carp Flies

Posted By: SteveBob

Carp Flies - 11/04/21 05:09 AM

These are from a "tie your own flies" course I am taking. They are called Mulberry Red/Purple. I am told carp love them. They are also supposed to make the same plop as if it were a real mulberry and look enough like the real fruity snack to a near sighted carp.

[Linked Image]

The four in the corners are the ones I tied and the one in the middle, was the pre-tied example fly that comes with the kit. I think I did pretty good. Any one here fly for carp? I'm just learning this new way (for me) to fish. I'd like to see your carp flies or any other warm water flies you use.

Hope ya like em

Steve Bob
Posted By: TXMulti-Species

Re: Carp Flies - 11/04/21 08:40 PM

They look mighty tasty! Great job tying them. I don't fly fish for them myself but I do know you can find a good bit of info here: https://americancarpsociety.com/flyfishing-for-carp
Posted By: Osbornfishing

Re: Carp Flies - 11/05/21 02:19 AM

Those flies look good and should work.

I have caught hundreds of carp on a fly using many patterns and colors. Carp determine if an item is food by touching it or sucking it into their mouths. If the fly hits the outside of theirs mouth on the way in, then they may reject the fly. I like a round fly on a small strong hook in a floating or sinking pattern.

Here are my carp slayer flies and a typical catch.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Re: Carp Flies - 11/05/21 07:21 AM

Thanks folks, I appreciate the assistance. I tied a few more but added a little foam on the eye end for buoyancy and changed the colors up a bit. Also there are 6 winds of thin lead wire on the ones from yesterday to help them sink.

[Linked Image]