Texas Fishing Forum

Dad's State Championships

Posted By: PerchTrout

Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 02:38 PM

My dad has been a high school football coach in Texas going on 29 years now. He won a Texas State Championship in 2000 as an offensive coordinator at Sonora High School. This past season he won his second Texas State Championship as an OC at Refugio High School. I am in my 2nd year coaching and I am real proud of my pops. Lots of time spent talking football and fishing.

By the way...alot of his gameplanning is done right on Copano Bay wink

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 02:39 PM

Posted By: I AM LEGEND!

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 03:01 PM

That is AWESOME! Some of us coach a life time in HS athletics & never get a chance to coach for one let alone win 2. Congrats!

Posted By: banker-always fishing

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 03:29 PM

That is a lot to be proud of. cheers Hard Work and Dedication pays off. thumb

Posted By: 2Fish4everything

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 03:56 PM

Very cool! Faith, Family, Fishing, and Football nothing else compares thumb

Posted By: Der Vorsteher

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 04:17 PM

Originally Posted By: PerchTrout
My dad has been a high school football coach in Texas going on 29 years now. He won a Texas State Championship in 2000 as an offensive coordinator at Sonora High School. This past season he won his second Texas State Championship as an OC at Refugio High School. I am in my 2nd year coaching and I am real proud of my pops. Lots of time spent talking football and fishing.

By the way...alot of his gameplanning is done right on Copano Bay wink

I played against that 2000 sonora team.

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 04:19 PM

Really? Where did you play your high school ball? I was just a 7th grader then, but if you were from around west Texas then I might have played your alma mater.

Re: Dad's State Championships - 05/07/12 04:26 PM