Texas Fishing Forum

Sickle hook question

Posted By: cantcatch5

Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 01:23 AM

What is the purpose/advantage of jigs with a sickle hook? I am new to crappie fishing and have been using Bonehead Tackle jigheads with good success but sure wouldn't mind using the $2 per 10 Big Bite bronze roundbend hook jigheads considering how many I am breaking off while shooting docks. I know it is probably a you get what you pay for situation but I probably broke off nearly 10 jigs and my son probably 30 yesterday! I hope we will both get better at it before I go broke! It is easy to see the quality is definitely better on the Bonehead jigs but does what does the sickle shape do?

Thanks for any input, Jason.
Posted By: Mikeyb_23

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 01:45 AM

Just switch til you get better at shooting docks.
Posted By: horton5303

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 02:11 AM

http://www.ebay.com/itm/50ct-1-8oz-Unp-Round-Head-w-no-collar-Ball-Only-w-4-Red-Sickle-Hook-/222481389561?hash=item33ccec97f9:g:AEUAAOSw5cNYF70l

All i ever used. They catch, I promise. And great price.
Posted By: Mckinneycrappiecatcher

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 02:22 AM

You should be able to order some sickle hook jigheads in bulk from somewhere online for $10-$15 for 100 coung
Posted By: horton5303

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 02:31 AM

I use 1/16th ounce also. 1/8 if it windy.
Posted By: Gamblinman

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 10:22 AM

Try using sickle hook jigheads with weedguards. It will help with hangups. and if you trim the weedguard, if will not affect the hookup.
Posted By: RODS454

Re: Sickle hook question - 05/15/17 12:35 PM

Look here. This is where I get my jigs. Great guys and quick ship. And they are Texas guys.
And plus one on the weed guards. I use to use them all the time, but have gotten better fishing brush and don't need them now.
http://stores.crazyanglertackle.com/pro-barb-heads/
Posted By: KidKrappie